

1701 North Congress Avenue • Austin, Texas 78701-1494 • 512 463-9734 • 512 463-9838 FAX • tea.texas.gov

June 2, 2017

TO THE ADMINISTRATOR ADDRESSED:

SUBJECT: Applicant Resources for the 2017-2019 School Redesign Grant, Pilot Cycle, grant program

The 2017-2019 School Redesign Grant, Pilot Cycle grant program provides eligible applicants with an opportunity to support eligible struggling schools by transforming them and creating better options for students. TEA published the request for application (RFA) for the 2017-2019 School Redesign Grant, Pilot Cycle grant program on May 5, 2017.

The purpose of this letter is to: 1) remind eligible applicants of the availability of the 2017-2019 School Redesign Grant, Pilot Cycle grant program, and 2) notify eligible applicants of the availability of resource materials.

Reminder

TEA published the RFA for the 2017-2019 School Redesign Grant, Pilot Cycle on May 5, 2017. Applicants were invited to submit questions, and answers to these questions will be posted on the <u>TEA Grant Opportunities</u> on June 5, 2017. The application is due on July 13th, 2017, at 5 p.m. central time, and TEA intends to announce preliminarily selected applicants in mid-August 2017.

Applicants should consult the Program Guidelines available on the <u>TEA Grant Opportunities</u> page for information regarding the grant program.

Applicant Resources

The Division of System Support and Innovation has developed high-level guidance materials that applicants may find useful in developing their plans and grant applications. Resources include guidance materials related to the key elements of school redesign: *school redesign models*, *operational flexibility plans and school redesign partners*. These resources can be found on the Division of School Improvement and Innovation page.

If you have questions regarding the content of this letter, please contact the <u>Division of System Support and Innovation</u> at (512) 463-2617 or by email at <u>DSSI@tea.texas.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Joe Siedlecki Interim Director, Division of System Support and Innovation