Heroes for Children Award

 Heroes for Children logo

The State Board of Education established the Heroes for Children award program in 1994. The award is designed to recognize excellence in advocacy for education and to highlight the many outstanding volunteers whose efforts represent significant contributions to public school education in Texas.

Since its beginning, the award has provided a means to recognize Texas residents who render selfless acts of service by offering their time, effort, and support to public schools and students. The award honors volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to student learning or who have demonstrated sustained periods of involvement and support of public education. Each year, the 15-member Board recognizes one Hero from each of their districts. The Heroes for Children award recipients are honored at the September SBOE meeting. The ceremony is held in the William B. Travis State Office Building, Room 1-104, at 1701 North Congress Ave. in Austin.  

Nomination Information:

Any Texas resident who gives time, effort, service, and support to public schools and students, with the exception of elected officials and educational employees, can be nominated for the Heroes for Children award.

To nominate someone, completely fill out the Heroes for Children nomination form. Include all pertinent information, including an essay from the nominee and another essay from the nominator. Incomplete submissions will not be considered. Please review your submissions before hitting the "Submit" button on the nomination form for completeness. You should receive the following message upon submitting correctly: "Thank You!" Your submission has been received. You should also receive a copy of your submission form through the nominator's email address. Otherwise, please resubmit your nomination form.

The nomination period starts on month/date 2021 and ends on month/date 2021 at 5 p.m. (CDT).

It is common to find award recipients who have volunteered hundreds, and sometimes thousands of hours to their local public schools. Others have been instrumental in helping to pass district bond proposals. The State Board of Education is proud to have recognized a number of volunteers who have worked unselfishly to help Texas students and their public schools.

2020 Heroes for Children Award Recipients

2020 Heroes for Children

Meet the 2020 Hero Recipients
Heroes for Children Slide Show (PDF, 18 MB)

Heroes for Children- Past Recipients

2019 Hero Recipients

2018 Hero Recipients

2017 Hero Recipients

For more information, contact heroes@tea.texas.gov or call (512) 463-9007.

Contact Information

Lenny Sanchez
Heroes Program Coordinator
State Board of Education Support Division
Texas Education Agency
(512) 463-9007