January 2021 Employers for Education Excellence Resolution


WHEREAS parents and employers play a key role in supporting public schools; and

WHEREAS advocating for education through volunteerism, material, and financial support can have a lifelong impact on students’ lives; and

WHEREAS the Texas Legislature recognized this important school-parent-business partnership when it created the Employers for Education Excellence award in 2007; and

WHEREAS Sewell Family of Companies of Odessa met and exceeded the requirements to be recognized at the highest level for this award in partnering with Ector County Independent School District; and

WHEREAS Sewell Ford donated a truck during the 2018-2019 school year to the Agriculture Career and Technical Education (CTE) program providing much-needed transportation for students and to haul livestock to stock shows and FFA competitions; and

WHEREAS in 2019-2020, Sewell Ford donated a car and two engines creating opportunities for real world learning and hands-on instruction for over 160 students enrolled in the Automotive Technology CTE program; and

WHEREAS Sewell Family of Companies has approximately 90 percent of its employees participating in various forms of volunteer activities such as mentoring and coaching; and

WHEREAS through its employees’ efforts and financial support to the Education Foundation of Odessa and the Education Partnership, new water fountains were installed at Permian High School, and new scoreboards installed at the Permian baseball field; and now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the State Board of Education urges Texas businesses to look upon Sewell Family of Companies as a role model for civic engagement; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the State Board of Education today, awards Sewell Family of Companies of Odessa the gold Employers for Education Excellence award for its generous and continuing support of West Texas students and teachers.

WITNESS our signatures this twenty-ninth day of January, two thousand and twenty-one, in Austin, Texas.

Keven Ellis, chair

Georgina C. Pérez, Secretary