Figure: 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C) [Figure: 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C)]

Countries in which English is an Official Language

The countries listed below have been approved by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to satisfy the English language proficiency requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C). To be exempted from the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-Based Test (TOEFL <u>-</u> iBT) testing requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(B), a certification candidate must have earned an undergraduate or graduate degree from an institution of higher education on the SBEC-approved list of countries.

[<u>American Samoa</u>] India

Anguilla Ireland

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica

Australia <u>Kenya</u>

Bahamas Liberia

Barbados New Zealand

Belize Nigeria

Bermuda Philippines

British Virgin Islands Saint Kitts and Nevis

<u>Cameroon</u> Saint Lucia

Canada (except Quebec) Singapore

Cayman Islands South Africa

Dominica Trinidad/Tobago

Federated States of Micronesia Turks and Caicos Islands

Gambia Uganda

Ghana United Kingdom

Gibraltar U.S. Pacific Trust

Grand Cayman Zambia

Grenada Zimbabwe

Guyana