# Appendix A - Acknowledgments

# 2017 Accountability Technical Advisory Committee (ATAC)

Representatives from districts and regional education service centers (ESCs) met in September 2016 and January 2017 to make recommendations to address major policy and technical issues for 2017 accountability.

## **School District Representatives**

Sara Arispe, Fort Worth ISD, Executive Director, Accountability and Data Quality, ESC Region XI Kevin Barlow, Arlington ISD, Executive Director, Research and Accountability, ESC Region XI Abigayle Barton, Abilene ISD, Associate Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, ESC Region XIV

Michael Bohensky, San Saba ISD, Assistant Superintendent, ESC Region XV

Susanne Carroll, *Victoria ISD*, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Accountability, ESC Region III

Julie Conde, Responsive Education Solutions, Executive Director of Accountability, BE/ESL Education, ESC Region XIV

Lisa Diserens, *Temple ISD*, Director of Accountability, Assessment, and PEIMS, ESC Region XII Beth Anne Dunavant, *Pittsburg ISD*, Assistant Superintendent, ESC Region VIII

Carolyn Gonzalez, *Ector County ISD*, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, ESC Region XVIII

Keith Haffey, *Spring Branch ISD*, Executive Director, Accountability and Research, ESC Region IV Kelly Legg, *Dumas ISD*, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction, ESC Region XVI

Emily Lorenz, Calallen ISD, Director of Curriculum and Instructional Support, ESC Region II

Sarah Martinez, Leander ISD, Senior Director for Decision Support, ESC Region XIII

Brian Moore, *Lamar CISD*, Director of Research, Assessment, and Accountability, ESC Region IV Elvia Noriega, *Richardson ISD*, Executive Director, Accountability and Continuous Improvement, ESC Region X

Donna Porter, Carthage ISD, Assistant Superintendent, ESC Region VII

Laura Redden, *Onalaska ISD*, Director of Curriculum, Special Programs, and Accountability, ESC Region VI

Francisco Rivera, *La Joya ISD*, Executive Director for Curriculum and Evaluation, ESC Region I Sue Thompson, *Ysleta ISD*, Director of Assessment, Research, Evaluation, and Accountability, ESC Region XIX

Sherrie Thornhill, Silsbee ISD, Curriculum Director, ESC Region V

Theresa Urrabazo, San Antonio ISD, Executive Director, Accountability, Research, Evaluation and Testing, ESC Region XX

Annette Villerot, *Pflugerville ISD*, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, ESC Region XIII

Dash Weerasinghe, Plano ISD, Director of Assessment and Accountability, ESC Region X

### **ESC Representatives**

Margaret Barrera, Region I Education Service Center, Director of Special Education Programs

Ty Duncan, Region XVII Education Service Center, Senior Specialist, Accountability and Compliance Services

Cheri Hendrick, Region XX Education Service Center, Accountability and Assessment Specialist Micki Wesley, Region IX Education Service Center, Director of Accountability and Compliance

# 2017 Accountability Policy Advisory Committee (APAC)

Representatives from legislative offices, school districts, and the business community met in November 2016 and January 2017 to review the recommendations made by the ATAC. The APAC either endorsed the ATAC's proposals or recommended alternatives which were forwarded to the commissioner of education.

# **Legislative Staff**

Ben Bhatti, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
Andrea Sheridan, Senior Education Advisor, Office of the Speaker of the House
Beth Shields, Committee Director, Senate Education Committee
Julie Shields, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
Marian Wallace, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Lieutenant Governor
Andrea Winkler, Public Education Budget Analyst, Legislative Budget Board

# School District / School Board / College and University / Education Organization Representatives

HD Chambers, Superintendent, Alief ISD

Eddie Conger, Superintendent, International Leadership of Texas

Andrew Kim, Superintendent, Comal ISD

Steve Lecholop, Trustee—District 1, San Antonio ISD

Cesar Maldonado, Chancellor, Houston Community College

Gonzalo Salazar, Superintendent, Los Fresnos CISD

Greg Smith, Superintendent, Clear Creek ISD

Randy Willis, Superintendent, Granger ISD

### **Business / Other Representatives**

Julia Erwin, Parent, Texas Special Education Continuing Advisory Committee

Sandy Garcia, Coordinator for Special Programs, Compliance, and Monitoring, ESC 6

Gary Godsey, Executive Director, Association of Texas Professional Educators

Cherry Kugle, Consultant, Raise Your Hand Texas

William McKenzie, Editorial Director, George W. Bush Institute

Mike Meroney, Consultant and Lobbyist, Meroney Public Affairs

Drew Scheberle, Senior Vice President, Austin Chamber of Commerce

Annie Spilman, Legislative Director, National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)/Texas

Jeri Stone, Executive Director/General Counsel, Texas Classroom Teachers Association

Laura Subrin Yeager, Parent, Texans Advocating for Meaningful Student Assessment (TAMSA)

### **TEA Staff**

Many people contributed to the development of the 2017 Accountability Manual. The project staff wish to thank these individuals for their expert advice and prompt review of our materials. Their comments greatly enhanced the accuracy and format of the document.

# **Executive Management**

Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education Penny Schwinn, Deputy Commissioner of Academics

### **Project Leadership**

Shannon Housson, Division Director, *Division of Performance Reporting*Jamie Crowe, Director, *Division of Performance Reporting*Christopher Lucas, Director, *Division of Performance Reporting*Heather Smalley, Program Specialist, *Division of Performance Reporting* 

### **Contributors**

Von Byer, General Counsel, *Legal Services*Rachel Harrington, Director, *Division of Performance Reporting-PBM*Linda Roska, Division Director, *Division of Research and Analysis*Lizette Ridgeway, Division Director, *Division of School Improvement* 

