State Board for Educator Certification Approve Fees for Certification Tests and Services

ltem 18:
Consider and Take Appropriate Action on Certification
Examination Fee Increases

DISCUSSION AND ACTION

SUMMARY: This item provides the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) the
opportunity to review and approve implementation of increased fees for all certification
examinations and related testing services effective September 1, 2015.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Texas Education Code §821.041(c) and 21.048 (a).
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 1, 2015.

PREVIOUS BOARD ACTION: An examination fee of $72 was originally approved in 1995. A
fee increase from $72 to $82 was approved by the SBEC in August 2003. The last fee increase
from $82 to $120 was approved by the SBEC in August 2008. This increase helped support the
transition from paper-based testing to computer-based testing.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND SIGNIFICANT ISSUES:

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) currently contracts with Educational Testing Service (ETS)
to provide certification examination development, registration, administration, and support. The
certification testing program is funded and maintained solely by test registration and other
ancillary testing fees. Since 2011, TEA and ETS have seen fluctuations in test registration
numbers, which have directly impacted total revenue generated per contract year.

During the 2013 legislative session, the agency became responsible for implementation of the
Core Subjects tests. Development and piloting of these assessments has resulted in revenue
shortfalls that have impacted TEA and ETS. While test registration numbers have increased in
the past two years, the agency and ETS are currently balancing the revenue necessary to
maintain the testing program with the revenue forgone to obtain critical information during the
data collection period the board approved for the new Core Subjects tests.

Bills recently passed during the 84" Legislature will also have a direct impact on testing
revenue. Effective September 1, 2015, Senate Bill 807 eliminates examination and licensure
fees paid by military service members, veterans, and their spouses, and House Bill 2205
establishes a maximum of five total attempts on any certification test, unless waived by the
SBEC for good cause. The fiscal impact of SB 807 is unknown at this time, but implementation
of HB 2205 has the potential to reduce future revenue.

Under the current fee structure, ETS receives $110 for each $120 certification examination fee
and $50 for each $60 certification examination fee, while the TEA receives $10 for each
certification examination fee. TEA does not currently receive any revenue from the ancillary
testing fees, which include changing test dates and locations, late and emergency registration
fees, and test score reviews. The proposed certificate examination fee increase would raise the
current $120 fee to $131 and the current $60 fee to $65. TEA would receive an additional dollar
from each of the proposed certification examination fee increases. Ancillary testing fees would
increase by $5, with the exception of the test cancellation fee, which would increase from $30 to
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$65. In accordance with the current testing contract structure, TEA would not receive any
revenue from the ancillary fees.

Attachment Il provides a comparison of the current and proposed certification testing fees and
related ancillary fees.

FISCAL IMPACT: People taking certification examinations will incur higher costs.

PUBLIC AND STUDENT BENEFIT: Texas students, educators, and constituents benefit by
having well-developed tests that accurately discern between unqualified and just-qualified
teacher candidates.

PROCEDURAL AND REPORTING IMPLICATIONS: The vendor systems will reflect the
increased fees. TEA will receive increased fees and the increase will be reflected in monthly
invoices.

LOCALLY MAINTAINED PAPERWORK REQUIREMENTS: None.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: None.

ALTERNATIVES: No increase or a smaller increase in fees.

OTHER COMMENTS AND RELATED ISSUES: None.

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONER’S RECOMMENDATION: | recommend that the State Board for
Educator Certification:

Approve the recommended fees for certification tests and related testing services effective
September 1, 2015.
Staff Members Responsible: Tim Miller, Director

Educator Preparation Programs

Michael Vriesenga, Director
Data and Accountability

Becky McCoy, Manager
Educator Testing

Attachments: I. Statutory Citations
II. Current and Proposed Certification Examination Fees
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ATTACHMENT |
Statutory Citations

Texas Education Code, 821.041, Rules; Fees (excerpt):
(c) The board shall propose a rule adopting a fee for the issuance and maintenance of an
educator certificate that, when combined with any fees imposed under Subsection (d), is

adequate to cover the cost of administration of this subchapter.

Texas Education Code, §21.048, Certification Examinations:

(a) The board shall propose rules prescribing comprehensive examinations for each class of
certificate issued by the board. The commissioner shall determine the satisfactory level of
performance required for each certification examination. For the issuance of a generalist
certificate, the commissioner shall require a satisfactory level of examination performance in
each core subject covered by the examination.
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ATTACHMENT I
Current and Proposed Certification Examination Fees
Services Current Fee Proposed

Fee

Test fee (per test) $120 $131

Test fee (per subject test) for test codes 801-809 $60 $65

International site fee $50 $55

Test, test center, test date or test session change during $15 $20

regular or late registration period

Test, test center, test date or test session change during $75 $80

emergency registration period

Braille late registration fee $35 $40

Braille emergency registration fee $75 $80

Additional processing fee for DANTES requests $30 $35

Selected-response score review $25 $30

Written-response score review (including English $35 $40

Language Arts and Reading 7-12 and Braille written

component

Selected-response and written-response score review $60 $65

(Braille only)

BTLPT Spanish; LOTE French, German, Latin and $70 $75

Spanish EC-12 written/oral response score review

Test cancellation fee (if cancelled 3 days prior to the test) $30 $65
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