
       
     

  
  

 

 
 

   
    

  
  
     

  
    
  
  
   
  
   
    
    
  
      

    
   

 
  
   
   

  
  

       
      

     
 

  
    
  
    

 
  

 
  
  
  
     
   

 

  
    

 

Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 232.11 and 232.15 – CPE content & types of activities 
Required number of CPE hours for Superintendents, Principals, School Counselors, School 
Librarians/Learning Resource Specialists, Educational Diagnosticians, Reading Specialists, and 
Master Teachers:  200 hours 

At Least 80% of CPE activities shall be directly related to the certificate(s) being renewed 
and focus in the standards required for the initial issuance of the certificate(s), including: 

• content and area knowledge and skills; 
• professional ethics and standards of conduct; 
• professional development, which should encompass topics such as the following: 

o district and campus priorities and objectives; 
o child development, including research on how children learn; 
o classroom management; 
o applicable federal and state laws; 
o diversity and special needs of student populations; 
o increasing and maintaining parental involvement; 
o integration of technology into educational practices; 
o insuring that students read on or above grade level; 
o diagnosing and removing obstacles to student achievement; and 
o instructional practices. 

An individual who holds a counselor certificate that is renewed on or after June 1, 2019, 
must complete CPE activities directly related to each of the topics below. 
Not more than 25% of the CPE activities for a counselor shall include instruction in the 
following topics: 

• assisting students in developing high school graduation plans; 
• implementing dropout prevention strategies; 
• informing students concerning college admissions, including college financial aid 

resources and application procedures; and 
informing students concerning career opportunities. 
An individual who holds a principal certificate that is renewed on or after June 1, 2019, 
must complete CPE activities directly related to each of the topics below. 
Not more than 25% of the CPE activities for a principal shall include instruction in the 
following topics: 

• collecting and analyzing information; 
• making decisions and managing time; 
• supervising student discipline and managing behavior; 
• recognizing early warning indicators that a student may be at risk of dropping out of 

school; 
• digital learning, digital teaching, and integrating technology into campus curriculum 

and instruction; 
• educating students with disabilities, including mental health disorders; 
• educating students who are educationally disadvantaged; 
• educating English language learners; 
• educating students at risk of dropping out of school; and 
• preventing, recognizing, and reporting any sexual conduct between an educator and 

student that is prohibited under the Texas Penal Code, §21.12 

Additional CPE requirements that may apply: 
• educators are encouraged to identify CPE activities based on results of his/her annual 

appraisal 
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Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 232.11 and 232.15 – CPE content & types of activities 
Required number of CPE hours for Superintendents, Principals, School Counselors, School 
Librarians/Learning Resource Specialists, Educational Diagnosticians, Reading Specialists, and 
Master Teachers:  200 hours 

• educators who teach students with dyslexia must include training regarding new 
research and practices in educating students with dyslexia 

• the following type of trainings may be counted toward certificate renewal: 
o mental health and first aid training – up to 12 hours 
o training on the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) 
o suicide prevention training 
o may include instruction regarding how grief and trauma affect student 

learning and behavior and how evidence-based, grief-informed, and trauma-
informed strategies support the academic success of students affected by 
grief and trauma 

o may receive credit toward CPE requirements for education courses that use 
technology to increase the educator’s digital literacy; and assist the educator 
in the use of digital technology in learning activities that improve teaching. 

Please Note: 
An individual who holds a valid certificate to serve in the role of principal, other than the Principal as 
Instructional Leader certificate may receive credit toward CPE requirements for successful completion of 
the components of a performance assessment that is required for the issuance of a Principal as 
Instructional Leader endorsement as prescribed in Chapter 230, Subchapter C.  an individual shall 
receive 50 clock hours of CPE credit for each component of the performance assessment that is 
successfully completed. 
Types of Acceptable Continuing Professional Education Activities: 
Participating in institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, interactive distance learning, 
video conferencing, online activities, and in -service or staff development activities given by 
an approved provider or sponsor. 
Completing courses through an accredited institution of higher education – 1 semester credit 
hour equals 15 clock-hours. 
Independent study in content area knowledge and skills related to the certificate(s) being 
renewed, not to exceed 20% of the required clock hours (up to 40 hours), which may include: 

• relevant professional materials (e.g., books, journals, periodicals, video and audio 
tapes, computer software, interactive distance learning, video conferencing, or online 
activities; 

• developing curriculum; or 
• authoring a published work. 

Developing, teaching or presenting a CPE activity, not to exceed 10% of the required clock 
hours (up to 20 hours). 
Providing professional guidance as a mentor to another educator, not to exceed 30% of the 
required clock hours (up to 60 hours). 

Approved CPE Providers include: 
State Board for Educator Certification 

Texas Education Agency 
Accredited Institutions of Higher Education 

(Recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board at their accreditation time) 
Texas Public School Districts and Open-Enrollment Charter Schools 

(In-service and/or staff development developed, approved and conducted 
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Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 232.11 and 232.15 – CPE content & types of activities 
Required number of CPE hours for Superintendents, Principals, School Counselors, School 
Librarians/Learning Resource Specialists, Educational Diagnosticians, Reading Specialists, and 
Master Teachers:  200 hours 

in accordance with the Texas Education Code, §21.451) 
Private Schools (As defined in §230.1) 

Professional Membership Associations or non-profits that have offered professional 
development in Texas for at least five years and have tax-exempt status under 26 United 

States Code, §501(c)(3)-(6), or a state association affiliated with a national association with 
tax-exempt status 

Private companies, entities, and individuals providing CPE activities that are listed on the 
approved CPE provider page at: 

http://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Educators/Certification/Certification_Renewals/ 
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