
       
     

 

 

   
    

 
  
  
     

  
    
  
  
   
  
   
    
    
  
    

      
    

  
 

    
 

 
    

 
  
  
  
     
   

 
  

 
   

 
   

   
  

     
      
  
  

  
 

 

Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 232.11 and 232.15 – CPE content & types of activities 
Required number of CPE hours for teachers:  150 hours 

At Least 80% of CPE activities shall be directly related to the certificate(s) being renewed 
and focus in the standards required for the initial issuance of the certificate(s), including: 

• content and area knowledge and skills; 
• professional ethics and standards of conduct; 
• professional development, which should encompass topics such as the following: 

o district and campus priorities and objectives; 
o child development, including research on how children learn; 
o classroom management; 
o applicable federal and state laws; 
o diversity and special needs of student populations; 
o increasing and maintaining parental involvement; 
o integration of technology into educational practices; 
o insuring that students read on or above grade level; 
o diagnosing and removing obstacles to student achievement; and 
o instructional practices. 

An individual who holds a classroom teacher certificate that is renewed on or after June 1, 
2019, must complete CPE activities directly related to each of the topics below. 
Not more than 25% of the CPE activities for a classroom teacher shall include instruction in 
the following topics: 

• collecting and analyzing information that will improve effectiveness in the classroom; 
• recognizing early waring indicators that a student may be at risk of dropping out of 

school; 
• digital learning, digital teaching, and integrating technology into classroom 

instruction; 
• educating students with disabilities, including mental health disorders; 
• educating students who are educationally disadvantaged; 
• educating English language learners; 
• educating students at risk of dropping out of school; and 
• understanding appropriate relationships, boundaries, and communications between 

educator and students. 
Additional CPE requirements that may apply: 

• educators are encouraged to identify CPE activities based on results of his/her annual 
appraisal 

• educators who teach students with dyslexia must include training regarding new 
research and practices in educating students with dyslexia 

• the following type of trainings may be counted toward certificate renewal: 
o mental health and first aid training – up to 12 hours 
o training on the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) 
o suicide prevention training 
o may include instruction regarding how grief and trauma affect student 

learning and behavior and how evidence-based, grief-informed, and trauma-
informed strategies support the academic success of students affected by 
grief and trauma 
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Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 232.11 and 232.15 – CPE content & types of activities 
Required number of CPE hours for teachers:  150 hours 

o may receive credit toward CPE requirements for education courses that use 
technology to increase the educator’s digital literacy; and assist the educator 
in the use of digital technology in learning activities that improve teaching. 

Types of Acceptable Continuing Professional Education Activities: 

Participating in institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, interactive distance learning, 
video conferencing, online activities, and in -service or staff development activities given by 
an approved provider or sponsor. 
Completing courses through an accredited institution of higher education – 1 semester credit 
hour equals 15 clock-hours. 
Independent study in content area knowledge and skills related to the certificate(s) being 
renewed, not to exceed 20% of the required clock hours (up to 30 hours), which may include: 

• relevant professional materials (e.g., books, journals, periodicals, video and audio 
tapes, computer software, interactive distance learning, video conferencing, or online 
activities; 

• developing curriculum; or 
• authoring a published work. 

Developing, teaching or presenting a CPE activity, not to exceed 10% of the required clock 
hours (up to 15 hours). 
Providing professional guidance as a mentor to another educator, not to exceed 30% of the 
required clock hours (up to 45 hours). 

Approved CPE Providers include: 
State Board for Educator Certification 

Texas Education Agency 
Accredited Institutions of Higher Education 

(Recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board at their accreditation time) 
Texas Public School Districts and Open-Enrollment Charter Schools 

(In-service and/or staff development developed, approved and conducted 
in accordance with the Texas Education Code, §21.451) 

Private Schools (As defined in §230.1) 
Professional Membership Associations or non-profits that have offered professional 

development in Texas for at least five years and have tax-exempt status under 26 United 
States Code, §501(c)(3)-(6), or a state association affiliated with a national association with 

tax-exempt status 
Private companies, entities, and individuals providing CPE activities that are listed on the 

approved CPE provider page at: 
http://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Educators/Certification/Certification_Renewals/ 
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