

State Board of Education

Marty Rowley Vice Chair Amarillo, District 15 **Ruben Cortez, Jr.** Secretary Brownsville, District 2

September 14, 2018

Commissioner George P. Bush Member Scott Rohrman Member Gilbert Burciago School Land Board 1700 N. Congress Ave. Austin, TX 78701

Dear Commissioner Bush, Member Rohrman and Member Burciago:

The State Board of Education (SBOE) respectfully requests that members of the State Land Board (SLB) reconsider their August 21, 2018 decision not to distribute funds to the Permanent School Fund (PSF)/SBOE.

The SLB's decision to distribute funding (\$600 million) to the Available School Fund (ASF) and to allocate \$0 to the PSF/SBOE reflects a \$190 million or 24% reduction in total distributions by the SLB from the current biennium. See the attached chart. It is also significant that this will be the first time in 160 + years that the PSF/SBOE fails to receive new funds from Texas lands. We also note that revenues collected by the SLB are at historic high levels given the oil boom in Texas.

We respectfully request the restoration of funding and the transfer of \$500 million to the PSF/SBOE.

When the SBOE appropriately sets a higher distribution rate, there is an increase in funding for instructional materials and technology for each school district in the state. *Please note that your ASF contribution, while benefitting the per capita distribution, does not directly benefit needed instructional materials and technology funding.* This is a particularly important consideration given that the upcoming English and Spanish language arts and reading instructional materials adoptions are the largest call for instructional materials the board approves.

In order to prepare the analysis for a board funding decision on Nov. 13, we require a response by Nov. 1. Failure to allocate the funds will have a direct negative impact on Texas schoolchildren.

Respectfully,

Donna Bahorich Chair, State Board of Education

Marty Rowley, Vice Chair District 15

Georgina C. Pérez District 1

Marisa B. Perez-Diaz District 3

Lawrence Allen, Jr. District 4

Ken Mercer District 5

David Bradley District 7

Barbara Cargill District 8 Ruben Cortez, Jr., Secretary District 2

Keven Ellis District 9

Tom Maynard District 10

Pat Hardy District 11

Geraldine Miller District 12

Erika Beltran District 13

Sue Melton-Malone District 14

SLB Contributions to the SBOE and the ASF



*Projected payments for Fiscal Years 2019, 2020, and 2021 per School Land Board resolutions. *Since FY 2009 the School Land Board may retain all revenues from managed real estate assets for reinvestment; and, since FY 2012 the School Land Board may make direct contributions to the Available School Fund of up to \$300 million annually.