Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online April 19, 2016
TEA announces early college high school designations

AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Mike Morath today announced approval of 16 new Early College High School (ECHS) designations for the 2016-2017 school year.

Early college high schools are innovative high schools that allow students least likely to attend college an opportunity to earn a high school diploma and either an associate degree or at least 60 college credit hours toward a baccalaureate degree. Under this model, an ECHS provides dual credit at no cost to students; offers rigorous instruction and accelerated courses; provides academic and social support services to help students succeed; increases college readiness; and reduces barriers to college access.

“The early college high school concept is just one innovative approach embraced by Texas school systems to offer students an avenue for success,” said Commissioner Morath. “With more than 150 campuses, Texas continues to be a national ECHS leader in providing high school students with college credit while saving families money.”

The following campuses were given approval for provisional designation for the 2016-2017 school year:

  • Beaumont ISD – Beaumont ISD Early College High School
  • Burleson ISD – Burleson Collegiate High School
  • Crowley ISD – Crowley Collegiate Early College High School
  • Dallas ISD – Seagoville Pathways to Technology Early College High School at Eastfield
  • Judson ISD – Judson High School: An Early College IB World School
  • Judson ISD – Karen Wagner Early College High School
  • Judson ISD – Mackey Early College High School
  • Kermit ISD – Kermit Early College High School
  • Lubbock ISD – Estacado Early College High School
  • Port Arthur ISD – Port Arthur Early College High School
  • Raul Yzaguirre School For Success Early College High School (Houston)
  • Raymondville ISD – Raymondville High School
  • Robstown ISD – Robstown Early College High School
  • Round Rock ISD – Round Rock ISD Early College High School
  • Silsbee ISD – Silsbee Early College High School
  • Socorro ISD – Rams Early College High School

School districts and charters approved for provisional ECHS designation must complete certain technical assistance activities during the spring and summer. In addition, a final, signed memorandum of understanding with an institution of higher education partner must be submitted to TEA before the start of the 2016-2017 school year. Once designated, campuses receive technical assistance and coaching support to operate as an approved ECHS.

TEA will review applications for renewal of existing ECHS campuses in the coming weeks. More information about early college high schools can be found on the TEA website at (Link no longer active, please use this link: