Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online July 7, 2015
TEA designates 19 new T-STEM Academies

AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Michael Williams announced today that the Texas Education Agency has designated 19 new Texas Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (T-STEM) Academies for the 2015-2016 school year.

T-STEM academies are rigorous secondary schools focusing on improving instruction and academic performance in science and mathematics-related subjects, with a goal of increasing the number of students who study and enter STEM careers. Designated T-STEM campuses serve students in grades 6-12 or 9-12.

“Students who excel in science, technology, engineering and mathematics are well positioned to secure jobs in our future workforce,” said Commissioner Williams. “Texas STEM academies provide important student experiences in these key subject areas, which in turn strengthens the economic future of our state and nation.”

The 19 campuses or charters designated as T-STEM Academies for the 2015-2016 school year are:

  • Alief ISD – Alief ISD STEM Academy
  • Angleton ISD – Angleton ISD Wildcat STEM Academy
  • Austin ISD – Anderson Applied Tech
  • Comal ISD – Memorial Early College High School with St. Philip’s College
  • Edinburg CISD – Edinburg North T-STEM Early College High School
  • Edinburg CISD – Robert Vela T-STEM Early College High School
  • Fabens ISD – Fabens ISD T-STEM Academy
  • Goose Creek CISD – Robert E. Lee STEM Academy
  • Grand Prairie ISD – Grand Prairie Collegiate Institute
  • Grand Prairie ISD – Young Women’s Leadership Academy
  • Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy Mesquite West (Mesquite)
  • Snyder ISD - Tiger STEM Academy
  • University of Texas at Tyler Innovation Academy (Longview)
  • University of Texas at Tyler Innovation Academy (Palestine)
  • University of Texas at Tyler Innovation Academy (Tyler)
  • Weslaco ISD – Weslaco 21st Century T-STEM Academy
  • Wharton ISD – Wharton ISD STEM Academy
  • Ysleta ISD – Del Valle Leadership STEM Academy
  • Ysleta ISD – Riverside STEM Academy

School districts or open-enrollment charters can apply each year for a campus to be awarded T-STEM designation (if certain criteria are met). Once a campus is designated, professional development and technical assistance are provided to designated T-STEM academies to serve as demonstration schools and learning labs. Designated academies showcase innovative instruction methods which integrate technology and engineering into science and mathematics instruction.

With the addition of these newly designated schools, Texas is now home to 104 T-STEM Academies across the state. To learn more about T-STEM Academies, visit the Texas Education Agency website at