Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online Sept. 8, 2015
SBOE recognizes school volunteers as Heroes for Children

AUSTIN – The State Board of Education (SBOE) announced today that 16 Texans who provide hundreds of hours of volunteer service to Texas public schools will be honored with the Heroes for Children award at the SBOE meeting on Friday, Sept. 11.

The Heroes for Children honorees are selected by the State Board members and recognized for volunteering their time, talents and skills in support of the public schools in their communities. Each hero will receive a certificate of honor, a copy of the resolution scheduled for board approval and photographs commemorating the ceremony. Each hero will also have his or her name engraved on a plaque that is permanently displayed at the Texas Education Agency

The board will recognize these school volunteers in a ceremony at 9 a.m. Friday, Sept. 11, in Room1-104 of the William B. Travis State Office Building, 1701 N. Congress Ave., in Austin. The State Board of Education meeting and award ceremony will be broadcast online.

Recipients of the 2015 Heroes for Children award, along with a brief description of the contributions each has made to Texas schoolchildren, appear below:

    Joe Ramirez (Socorro ISD – SBOE District 1)
Ramirez is credited with helping organize the East Lake High School Parent-Teacher-Student Association (PTSA) and also helping other struggling PTSAs throughout the school district get back on track.

    Kenneth Parks (Brownsville ISD – SBOE District 2)
A volunteer for many years, Parks works to bring help and donations of food, holiday presents, a mobile medical unit and other items to the many homeless students who attend the district.

    Raul “TJ” Tijerina (Edinburg CISD – SBOE District 3)
Tijerina organizes numerous events at Brewster Elementary School and dedicates much of his time, effort, skills and even his own resources to benefit the students.

    Kim Hadaway (Galena Park ISD – SBOE District 4)
Hadaway is a constant presence at Cimarron Elementary School, where she helps out in the library and serves on the health advisory committee, parent advisory committee and the District Planning Advisory Committee.   

    Nancy Andrus (Wimberley ISD – SBOE District 5)
Andrus worked with other parent advocates in the district and coordinated efforts to support legislation for age-appropriate testing for Texas public school students.

    Julie Stevens (Klein ISD – SBOE District 6)
Stevens has served as the district’s volunteer coordinator for four years and serves as the parent liaison for the Klein ISD Education Foundation, overseeing the annual fundraising event, while also serving as a classroom volunteer at Benignus Elementary School.

    Marilyn Kingman (Barbers Hill ISD – SBOE District 7)
After working for 32 years as a classroom teacher, Kingman returned to the classroom as a math tutor for struggling high school students. She also assists the district’s Future Farmers of America (FFA) program by taking care of the show animals.

    Bill & Jane Barnes (Conroe ISD – SBOE District 8)
The couple has played a major role the last eight years supporting the many athletic booster clubs at The Woodlands College Park High School, which help to raise scholarships for many student athletes.

    Valarie Said (Texarkana ISD – SBOE District 9)
For the past 23 years, Said has guided fundraisers, special events and served as a classroom volunteer, always going above and beyond in support of the students in the Texarkana ISD.

    Bonita Henderson (Killeen ISD – SBOE District 10)
Over the last four years, Henderson donated more than 4,000 volunteer hours serving faculty, staff and students through the PTO, site-based decision making committee, fundraisers, classroom support and popping popcorn for the district’s movie night.

    Julie Enlow (Weatherford ISD – SBOE District 11)
Enlow spent the last two summers ensuring students were provided a hot lunch during the summer by implementing the Weatherford Healthy Kids Summer Lunch Program. In 2015, the program provided more than 8,500 meals for children.

    Jennifer Sanchez (Prosper ISD – SBOE District 12)
In addition to all her other volunteer duties, for the last seven years Sanchez has spearheaded the district’s Box Tops for Kids program, gathering more than 500,000 Box Tops. The district has earned almost $50,000 through the program.

    Deborah Cannon (Harmony Science Academy – Grand Prairie  – SBOE District 13)
Cannon  has volunteered in many capacities for hundreds of hours for the charter school, from serving on the PTO board to assisting with picture day, book fairs, carnivals, picnics, and anything the school needed her to do.

    Jennifer Kampermann (Midway ISD – SBOE District 14)
Kampermann created the Mothers of Midway (MOMs) Facebook and information network to help the district share informative, timely and important information with other parents and the community. The MOMs network also provides positive posts and cheers accomplishments of both students and teachers alike.

    Orlando Lopez (Amarillo ISD – SBOE District 15)
 Creator of the mentoring program ”Boys to Men” at the Sunrise Elementary School, Lopez is also responsible for helping resurrect the campus PTO, offering outreach and support to parents.

# # #