Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online Jan. 29, 2015
26 Texas schools nominated for 2015 national Blue Ribbon honors

AUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for national 2015 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels.

The nominated schools in Texas include the following:

  • Aldine ISD – Victory Early College High School
  • Amarillo ISD – South Lawn Elementary School
  • Austin ISD – Blackshear Elementary School
  • Canyon ISD – Canyon Intermediate School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Country Place Elementary School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Kent Elementary School
  • Crawford ISD – Crawford Elementary School
  • Dallas ISD – Harry Stone Montessori Academy
  • Dallas ISD – Trinidad Garza Early College High School
  • El Paso ISD – Lamar Elementary School
  • Falls City ISD – Falls City Elementary School
  • Garland ISD – Kimberlin Academy for Excellence
  • Grandview ISD – Grandview Elementary School
  • Harper ISD – Harper Middle School
  • Highland ISD – Highland School
  • Houston ISD – North Houston Early College High School
  • Jim Ned ISD – Lawn Elementary School
  • Klondike ISD – Klondike ISD
  • Los Fresnos ISD – Olmito Elementary School
  • Malakoff ISD – Malakoff Elementary School
  • McAllen ISD – Achieve Early College High School
  • Mt. Vernon ISD – Mt. Vernon Intermediate School
  • Roma ISD – F.J. Scott Elementary School
  • San Antonio ISD – Young Women’s Leadership Academy
  • South Texas ISD – South Texas Preparatory Academy
  • Vega ISD – Vega Elementary School

All schools that have been nominated for the 2015 honor were selected as exemplary high performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 25 percent or greater.

The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2015.  Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C.