SBOE Member District 9

District 9_Keven EllisKeven Ellis (R)
P.O. Box 151453
Lufkin, TX 75915
(512) 710-7915  

Board Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Jan. 1, 2021  

Keven Ellis, a Republican from Lufkin, serves as the District 9 representative on the State Board of Education. He was elected to a four-year term of office on Nov. 8, 2016 and represents 31 Northeast Texas counties.

Ellis is a member of the board's Committee on School Initiatives, which oversees agenda items on topics such as charter schools, State Board for Educator Certification rules and school board member training.

Ellis is a chiropractor and has operated Ellis Chiropractic since 1998. That same year, Ellis began his public service career. He is actively involved in the community, serving with local boards, including the Lufkin Host Lions Club, where he served as president for 2012-13, member of the Lufkin Independent School District Tri-Ethnic Board, president of Angelina County Benefit Rodeo, chairman of Small Business Council for Angelina County Chamber of Commerce, president of the Z&OO Railroad, chairman of Eastview United Pentecostal Church’s building committee and assistant scoutmaster for Troop 136.  

In 2012, he was elected to the Lufkin ISD Board of Trustees and served as board president in 2015-2016, resigning from that post in November 2016 after winning the seat on the state board. 

 Along with his service on the local school board, Ellis was a charter member of the Lufkin ISD Education Foundation. 

Ellis attended Western Washington University and obtained his Doctorate of Chiropractic from Texas Chiropractic College.

Ellis and his wife, Shelli Cox Ellis, have three children, Katherine, Jacob and John who are all currently attending Texas A&M University. 

As the District 9 board member, Ellis represents citizens in the following counties: Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.