Heroes for Children Award

Heroes for Children logo

The Heroes for Children award program recognizes individuals who volunteer time, effort, and support to public schools and students.  The State Board of Education presents these awards annually in recognition of outstanding service and dedication, and for providing each Texas student with a meaningful, positive learning experience in school.

Heroes for Children Nominations

Any Texas resident who gives time, effort, service, and support to public schools and students, with the exception of elected officials and educational employees, can be nominated for the Heroes for Children award. To nominate someone, download the Heroes for Children nomination form, fill it out and return it to the Texas Education Agency. 
The nomination deadline for the 2016 Heroes for Children award is May 27, 2016. 

The Board recognizes 15 Heroes for Children each year – one from each SBOE district.  The Heroes for Children are honored at the September SBOE meeting.  The ceremony is held in the William B. Travis State Office Building, Room 1-104, at 1701 North Congress Ave. in Austin.

2015 Heroes for Children Award Recipients

2015 Heroes - Press Release 

 2015 Heroes for Children 

The 2015 Heroes for Children are: front row (left to right) Bonita Henderson, District 10; Kim Hadaway, District 4; Joe Ramirez, District 1; Julie Stevens, District 6; Julie Enlow, District 11; Marilyn Kingman, District 7. Standing, left to right, Jane Barnes, District 8; Orlando Lopez, District 15; Valarie Said, District 9; Jennifer Sanchez, District 12; Kenneth Parks, District 2; Raul “TJ” Tijerina, District 3; Jennifer Kampermann, District 14, and Nancy Andrus, District 5. Not pictured is Bill Barnes, District 8 hero.



Heroes for Children - Past Recipients

2014 Hero Recipients

For winners prior to 2014, please email your request to heroes@tea.texas.gov.