Texas law requires that educators pass appropriate tests to become certified. The office of Educator Testing oversees testing requirements for the state of Texas.
Information related to testing is available below:
Additional Information Related to Testing
Additional testing information is available below:
Testing Announcements and Updates
Principal Certification Redesign
TEA is redesigning Texas’ principal certification standards and corresponding tests. For more information, visit the Principal Certification Redesign homepage
Test Deadline Information
There are 10 certification examinations, that will be eliminated as of 9/1/2017. Educators that have passed tests for any of these certificates must meet all deadlines or the new test will be required.
Test Waiver Information
Section 21.048(a-1) of the Texas Education Code specifies that a person may not retake a certification examination more than four times unless the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) waives the limitation for good cause. The SBEC has defined the waiver application process in Chapter 230, Subchapter C of the Texas Administrative Code. To request a waiver, you must complete all waiver requirements as specified in the waiver application. After we receive your completed waiver application, you will be contacted about submitting the $160 waiver application fee through our online system. Applicants and educator preparation program staff should review the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) document about the test waiver process for answers to common questions and further information on completing the waiver application. If you have any questions, please call Educator Testing at (512) 463-9039 or email Jennifer Perez or Rebecca McCoy.
Payments for Test Registrations Now Processed Through Texas.gov
Beginning July 23, 2016, when registering for tests through the ETS registration system (outside source), you will be directed to Texas.gov, the official website of Texas, to submit payment. The price of this service, which is not refundable, includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the state. Depending on the services ordered, you may have to make two separate payments.
New Test Refund Policy
Effective July 23, 2016, all past and future processed test and service
orders will be refundable up to 180 days from completion of initial order
payment. The 180-day refund policy begins with the date the initial payment
transaction was processed. If a test or service order is changed (e.g., change
of test date), the 180-day refund policy applies to the date
the payment was initially processed.
Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs
Beginning September 1, 2015, candidates will be limited to five attempts to take a certification test. The five attempts include the first attempt to pass the examination and four retakes. The five attempts include any of the test approval methods (PACT, EPP, out of state, charter, and CBE). The Texas Education Agency (TEA) is implementing this change to Texas Education Code §21.048 in response to House Bill 2205, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015. For more information, please see the Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs.
Core Subjects Registration Information
In October 2014, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved a
“data collection period” for the new Core Subjects test administrations
in order to gather data on actual educator performance on the EC–6 and
4–8 tests. During this period, the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8
(211) tests were administered free of charge to test takers.
At the June 12, 2015 State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)
meeting, TEA staff confirmed we now have sufficient test taker data, so
the data collection period for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8
(211) ended on June 30, 2015. Regular registration fees for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291)
and 4–8 (211) tests apply for individuals registering on or after July 16, 2015. The current passing standards for the Core Subjects tests will remain in place through August 31, 2015.
At the June 12, 2015 SBEC meeting, the SBEC approved
a decrease of the minimum passing standards for the Core Subjects EC–6
(291), 4–8 (211), and individual subject tests (801–809) for a period of
one year. This change will go into effect on September 1, 2015, and test
takers who did not pass one or more individual subject tests (801-809)
will need to re-take and pass the individual subject test(s) at the new
passing standard(s). The SBEC will provide TEA staff with more direction
on any further changes to the Core Subjects tests at their August 7,
As previously announced, the Generalist 4-8 (111) and Generalist EC-6
(191) tests will be administered for the last time on August 31, 2015.
The August 2017 deadline for completion of all certificate requirements
and the October 2017 deadline for submission of online applications,
certificate application fees, and educator preparation program
recommendations remains in place as previously announced.
The new Core Subjects EC-6 (291) and 4-8 (211) tests
are now being offered on a continuous basis. Educators must take the
overall 291 or 211 test on their first attempt. After the first attempt, educators may register for the overall 291 or 211 test or the individual subject area tests; however, each testing session counts as another attempt in the 4-retest limit allowed by law. Both options require candidates to
wait 45 days to retest.