Office of Legal Services

The Office of Legal Services division provides information and resources about legal issues that affect public education in Texas. Our office can answer general questions and provide information about state law, but we cannot give legal advice to either side of a dispute.

For more information we have provided legal topics that may further assist you with questions that you have. If you find the information below does not answer your question(s) you may contact our legal office directly at (512) 463-9720 or by email at tealegal@tea.texas.gov.

 

Von Byer
General Counsel
 tealegal@tea.texas.gov

 Legal Staff Directory

Office Manager

Diane O. Saldaña
diane.saldana@tea.texas.gov

General Legal Questions

Rebecca Marquez
rebecca.marquez@tea.texas.gov

Administrative Appeal, Local Hearings & Commissioner Decisions

Isabel Lozoria
isabel.lozoria@tea.texas.gov

Special Education Due Process

Brittney Salaiz
brittney.salaiz@tea.texas.gov

Special Education Mediation

Lorie Williams
lorie.williams@tea.texas.gov

Charter School/Driver Training

Renee Keese
renee.keese@tea.texas.gov

Educator Certification Cases

Diane Torres
diane.torres@tea.texas.gov

Public Information

pir@tea.texas.gov

Complaints Management

generalinquiry@tea.texas.gov