ESEA Flexibility Principle 2: Priority, Focus, and Reward Schools

The U.S. Department of Education invited each State educational agency (SEA) to request flexibility regarding specific requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB) in exchange for rigorous and comprehensive State-developed plans designed to improve educational outcomes for all students, close achievement gaps, increase equity, and improve the quality of instruction.  The Texas Education Agency’s ESEA flexibility request was approved on September 30, 2013.


TAA: Districts with Schools Identified as Priority and / or Focus (PDF, 115KB)

 ESEA Flex Principle 2: State-Developed Differentiated Recognition, Accountability, and Support (PDF, 464KB)


Priority and Focus Schools

Priority Schools

2013-2014 Priority Schools List

2013-2014 Priority Schools List (PDF, 716KB)

Priority Ranking Calculation Steps (PDF, 110KB)


Focus Schools

2013-2014 Focus Schools List

2013-2014 Focus Schools List (PDF, 1176KB)

Focus Ranking Calculation Steps (PDF, 166KB)


Federal Accountability Methodology (PDF, 190KB)

 Reward Schools

High-Performing Schools

           2013-2014 High-Performing Schools List

          2013-2014 High-Performing Schools (PDF, 131KB) 

High-Progress Schools

           2013-2014 High-Progress Schools List

          2013-2014 High-Progress Schools (PDF, 164KB)  

Reward Schools Methodology (PDF, 118KB)


 Federal Student Groups (7) and Safeguard Targets (PDF, 92KB)

Turnaround Principles (PDF, 67KB)

Critical Success Factors (CSFs) (PDF, 75KB)

Texas Accountability Intervention System (TAIS)

Texas Center for District and School Support



For additional information, please contact:

Division of School Improvement and Support
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX  78701