State Board of Education Summary of Action Items February 11, 2015

1. Swearing-in Ceremony for Members of the State Board of Education

State Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock, chair of the House Public Education Committee, administered a ceremonial oath of office to SBOE members Ruben Cortez, Jr.; Marisa B. Perez; Lawrence A. Allen, Jr.; David Bradley; Pat Hardy; Geraldine "Tincy" Miller; and Erika Beltran. The seven members were elected to four year terms of office in November 2014. Estudiantina Tenampa, a mariachi group from Porter High School in the Brownsville Independent School District, entertained during the ceremony.

Staff Contact: Questions about these items should be directed to the Division of Communications and State Board of Education Support at (512) 463-9000.

2. Review and Adoption of State Board of Education Operating Rules

As required by Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.107, at the first regular meeting after the election and qualification of new members, the board amended and adopted its operating.

Staff Contact: Questions about these items should be directed to the Division of Communications and State Board of Education Support at (512) 463-9000.

3. Election of State Board of Education Officers

The board re-elected Thomas Ratliff vice chair on a 10-4, after a vote to elect Ken Mercer vice chair failed on a 5-9-1 vote. The board on a voice vote elected Ruben Cortez, Jr. as secretary. Both members will serve as board officers for a two-year term.

Staff Contact: Questions about these items should be directed to the Division of Communications and State Board of Education Support at (512) 463-9000.

February 2015

4. Announcement of Membership of Committees

Board members were asked to select their top two choices for committee assignments. The three executive officers of the board then made the following committee assignments:

Committee on Instruction

Barbara Cargill
Sue Melton-Malone
Tom Maynard
Geraldine Miller
Marisa B. Perez

Committee on School Finance/Permanent School Fund

Lawrence A. Allen, Jr. David Bradley Patricia Hardy Ken Mercer Thomas Ratliff

Committee on School Initiatives

Donna Bahorich Erika Beltran Ruben Cortez, Jr. Martha M. Dominguez Marty Rowley

Because a new board term is beginning, the Ad Hoc Committee on the Long-Range Plan on Public Education was reconstituted with the same members who served on it in 2014. Those members are:

Marty Rowley, chair

Donna Bahorich

Ruben Cortez, Jr.

Martha M. Dominguez

Pat Hardy

Tom Maynard

Geraldine Miller

Marisa B. Perez

Thomas Ratliff

Staff Contact: Questions about these items should be directed to the Division of Communications and State Board of Education Support at (512) 463-9000.

February 2015 2