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« Audio announcement: Select your audio now.

. By default you have joined audio using your computer’s speaker system (VolIP). To dial the conference,
select “Use Telephone” in your audio pane and enter your unique audio PIN.

- You will hear silence until we begin at 10:00 a.m.

After the webinar, the presentation slides will be available on the at



http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4_wide.aspx?id=7739&menu_id=645&menu_id2=789
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Please submit questions to
Please do not submit questions through GoToWebinar.
We will provide responses via email.

Our plan is for everyone to receive an email within 24 hours of the final webinar with
a link to view a recorded version of the webinar.
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SAAH Background

> Describes the attendance accounting rules school districts and
charter schools must follow to generate state funding

o Has the force of law; it is adopted by reference in the Texas
Administrative Code (TAC)

o |s published yearly to include changes in statute and in other
TAC rules

TEA
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Update:

Starting in the 2016-2017 school year, school districts and charter schools are
required to submit attendance reporting through the Texas Student Data Systems
(TSDS). The Texas Education Data Standards (TEDS) are XML-based standards for
TSDS and TSDS PEIMS data collections. TEDS includes all the data elements, code
tables, business rules, and data validation needed to load local education agency
(LEA—Texas school district or charter school) education data.

TSDS PEIMS has replaced PEIMS throughout the handbook.




Update:

The record type for PEIMS submission has now changed to a TSDS
record type. Please refer to the crosswalk below for the record types
that were updated throughout the handbook.

40100
40110
42408
41169
40170
40203
42400
42401
42408
42401
43415
44425
42401
42401

42401 TE &5




Overview — Section 1

Explains how attendance is related to funding

Explains how to use the handbook

TEA




Overview — Section 1

1.6 — How to Use This Handbook

e CTRL + click to go to cross-referenced section

e ALT + left arrow key (<) to go back

1.7 — Significant Changes

e Table of major changes from the last publication

* A detailed change document is published separately

TEA




Audit Requirements — Section 2

2.1 — General Audit Requirements

e Attendance records must be provided within 20 working days of written
request by TEA
Failure to provide records will result in TEA’s keeping 100% of Foundation
School Program (FSP) funding for the undocumented attendance

Undocumented attendance = missing documentation or documentation so
inadequate a reasonable person could not conclude from it that attendance

occurred
e Attendance records must be kept for 5 years




Audit Requirements — Section 2

2.1 — General Audit Requirements

e Attendance records must be provided within 20 working days of written
request by TEA
Failure to provide records will result in TEA’s keeping 100% of Foundation
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Audit Requirements — Section 2

2.2 — Accounting System Requirements

* Must use Texas Student Data Systems Public Education Information Management
System (TSDS PEIMS) coding

* Must be able to reproduce required documentation on request for audit purposes
2.2.5 — Attendance System Procedures Manual

2.3 — Required Documentation
* Student Detail Report

e Campus Summary Report

e District Summary Report rﬁ‘i




Audit Requirements — Section 2

2.3.1 —Student Detail Reports

e Campuses that offer multiple instructional tracks will have multiple student detail
reports

* The word “track” replaced “campus” in the student detail reports.
2.3.2 — Campus Summary Reports

* If the campus has multiple tracks the earliest track beginning date and latest track
ending date should be indicated

e Attendance data totals for all students, summarized by grade.




Audit Requirements — Section 2

2.3.3 — District Summary Reports

e If the campus has multiple tracks the earliest track beginning date and latest track ending date should be
indicated.

2.3.4 — Additional Required Documentation

e Grade books

* Period absence reports (if used), signed and dated within 1 week of the attendance
* Documentation for excused absences

e Student schedules

e Official school calendar and approved waivers

e Updated/corrected copies of reports

* Any special program documentation

TEA

* Meanings of any local attendance codes =it




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.2.1 — Average Daily Attendance (ADA)
Eligibility Coding

* 0-Enrolled, Not in Membership

* 1 - Eligible for Full-Day Attendance

e 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance
* 3 - Eligible Transfer Student Full-Day

* 4 - Ineligible Full-Day

* 5-Ineligible Half-Day

* 6 - Eligible Transfer Student Half-Day

e 7 - Eligible - Alternative Attendance Program

* 8- Ineligible - Alternative Attendance Program TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.2.2 — Funding Eligibility
2-through-4-hour rule

Scheduled for and served with at least
2 hours of instruction for half-day eligibility

Scheduled for and served with at least
4 hours of instruction for full-day eligibility

Note: The 2-through-4-hour rule includes recess and in-class breakfast.

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.2.2 — Funding Eligibility
* Must be instructional hours
e Study hall does not count as instruction
e Sign-in does not count as instruction
* Repeated courses are not eligible for funding

e Study program to pass required state assessment to graduate if student has met all

graduation requirements except passing assessment(s)
counts as instruction rf.h.‘i




3.2.3 — Age Eligibility

General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

At least 5 years old on September 1 but less than 21
At least 21 years old but less than 26 and admitted to complete diploma requirements

At least 19 years of age but less than 26 years of age on September 1 and is enrolled in an adult high school
diploma and industry certification charter school pilot program (Senate Bill 1142, 83rd Texas Legislature)

At least 3 years old, has a disability, and meets special education eligibility requirements

21 years old on September 1 and receiving special education services (eligible for services through end of school
year or graduation)

Has a disability, has graduated under 19 TAC §89.1070(b), and still has need for special education services (may
be served through age 21)

Eligible for PK and meets PK age requirements by September 1 of school year (half-day funding) !5.,&




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.2.3 — Age Eligibility

a student with a disability who graduated by meeting the requirements of 19
TAC (b) as determined by an admission, review, and dismissal (ARD)
committee and who is still in need of special education services: the student

may be served through age 21 inclusive.

TEA
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General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.3 — Enrollment

Documentation of identity and age:
Birth certificate
Statement of child’s date of birth issued by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Driver’s license
School ID, records, or report card
Military ID

Hospital birth record

Adoption records

Church baptismal records TEk

Touns Education Agoney

Any other legal document that can establish identity




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.3 — Enrollment
Documentation of identity and age:

Additional requirements for students under 11 years of age:

* Must show birth certificate OR other documentation + note
explaining why unable to produce birth certificate

* 30 days for acceptable identification or 90 days if student born
outside United States

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.4.4 — Information and Record Transfer
Texas Records Exchange (TREx) System

* |If student previously enrolled in another district, your district must request student's
records through TREx

e Sending district has 10 working days to comply

* Working days do not include days that the campus or district administrative offices are
closed

* A student’s Texas Unique Student ID must be included in transferred information

TEA

* See



http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4.aspx?id=3412

General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.5 — Compulsory Attendance

PK and kindergarten, if enrolled

Age 6 (or younger, if previously enrolled in first grade) through age 19

Age 19 or older, if voluntarily enrolled

Changes to truancy statutes in 2015 legislative session

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —

Section 3
3.6.2 — Time of Day for Attendance Taking

* Each campus must take attendance at
official attendance time during
second or fifth instructional hour

* Time may vary from campus to campus

* Once time selected, it cannot be changed during the year

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —

Section 3
3.6.2 — Time of Day for Attendance Taking

* A campus may select an official attendance time that is not during the second or
fifth instructional hour if board policy or superintendent procedures (if
superintendent is delegated authority) allow for that

* Board policy or superintendent procedures may:

allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance time for campus as whole,

allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance time for certain groups of students as
described in 3.6.2.2, or

allow for both




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.2.2 — Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations

e With board policy/superintendent procedures, campus may choose alternate time for
group of students scheduled to be off campus during regular time (e.g., certain CTE
students)

* Alternate time is in effect for the period of days or weeks for which the group is scheduled
to be off campus during regular time

* Alternate attendance-taking time for a particular group may not be changed




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for
FSP (Funding) Purposes

* For official attendance, “excused” and “unexcused” absences do not exist
Student is either present or absent at official time

Student not in classroom may be counted present if it is documented that student was
with campus official

Attendance documentation from an electronic,
radio-frequency, “smart card,” or similar device is not acceptable documentation

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding)
Purposes

Absences for which student may be considered present for
FSP (funding) purposes:

e Dual credit (students not scheduled to be on campus at all, alternate method of
attendance required)

* Full-time Texas Virtual School Network (students not scheduled to be on campus at all)
* Board-approved activity with adjunct staff member or paraprofessional staff member

* Board-approved short-term class provided by
Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired or
Texas School for the Deaf




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding)
Purposes

Absences for which student may be considered present for
FSP (funding) purposes (Continued):

* Mentorship for Distinguished Achievement Program
* Religious holy days (+ travel)

* Taps at military funeral

e Required court appearance (+ travel)

e Certain absences for students in foster care
(appointments, family visitations, court-ordered activities)

(See Senate Bill 1404 and House Bill 2619, 83rd Texas Legislature)




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding)
Purposes

Absences for which student may be considered present for
FSP (funding) purposes (Continued):

e Election clerk (+ travel) and student early voting clerk
(limited to 2 days per year; 2 days do not include travel days)
(Senate Bill 553, 83rd Texas Legislature)

e Appearing at government office to complete paperwork for student’s US
citizenship application (+ travel)

e Student’s own naturalization ceremony (+ travel )




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding) Purposes

Absences for which student may be considered present for
FSP (funding) purposes (Continued):

**Health care appointments for student or student’s child (student must attend school for
part of day) is temporarily absent because of a documented appointment for the student
or the student’s child that is with a health care professional licensed, certified, or
registered by an appropriate agency of the State of Texas to practice in the United States.
You can access the Texas Medical Board’s searchable database of licensed physicians.

* Visiting a university or college (juniors and seniors;
limited to 2 days per year)

e Certain military deployments (limited to 5 days a year)
(Senate Bill 260, 83rd Texas Legislature)




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP
(Funding) Purposes

* Documentation required for all absences for which student is counted present

 Numerous absences, whether excused or unexcused, may jeopardize student’s
ability to receive credit or final grades

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.3 — Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP
(Funding) Purposes

e District must have board policy or superintendent-established procedures
addressing parental consent for a student to leave campus

e District must distribute policy or procedures to staff and parents

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.6.4 — Excused Absences for Compulsory Attendance
Purposes

e Superintendent, principal, or teacher may excuse temporary absence for
any reason acceptable to him or her

However, absence excused for compulsory attendance purposes only

Student may not be counted in attendance for funding purposes unless
absence meets requirements in 3.6.3

Student must make up academic time lost to maintain 90% attendance




General Attendance Requirements —

Section 3
3.7 — General Education Homebound (GEH)

* Eligibility criteria

Expected to be confined at home or hospital for
4 weeks (need not be consecutive)

Confined for medical reasons only

Medical condition documented by licensed physician

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

shasiciEy

 District must have board-approved GEH policy

GEH committee
Campus administrator
Student's teacher
Student's parent/guardian

GEH documentation

Time on campus taking required state tests cannot count for hours of GEH service for
eligible days present

District required to provide instruction in core academic courses TE &




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.7.3 — GEH Funding Chart

Amount of Time Eligible Days Present Earned per Week
Served per Week

| hour | day present

2 hours 2 days present

3 hours 3 days present

4 hours 4 days present (if the week is a 4-day week)

5 days present (if the week is a 5-day week)

More than 4 hours 4 days present (if the week is a 4-day week)
5 days present (if the week is a 5-day week)




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.8 — Calendar

* Must provide at least 75,600 minutes of instruction,
minus any days waived by TEA

e Recommended to have at least 840 minutes of bad weather makeup time
* Must include approximately equal-length reporting periods

**May add additional minutes to the instructional day to make up the minutes.

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —
Section 3

3.8.2 — Makeup Days and Waivers

e Use online waiver application system to apply for waivers;
system is available through TEA Login (TEAL)

* Waivers related to calendars
* Missed instructional days (granted only after 2 makeup days used)
* Low-attendance days

**»Early-release days; The TEA will grant a maximum of six early release waivers per school
year.

e Dual credit: calendar mismatch between school and college (number of days or start date)




Special Education — Section 4

4.2 — Special Education and Eligibility
* Student must be child with a disability

* Admission, review, and dismissal (ARD)
committee or individualized family services
plan (IFSP) committee determines if student is
child with a disability

TEA




Special Education— Section 4

4.2 — Special Education and Eligibility

Services must be made available to:
* Eligible student beginning on third birthday

 Eligible student who is not yet 22 on September 1 of current year and has not
received regular high school diploma

 Eligible student who meets all three requirements:
Not 22 on September 1 of current year
Received high school diploma under 19 TAC §89.1070(b)

Is returning to school under 19 TAC §89.1070(f)
(ARD committee has determined student needs services)




Special Education— Section 4

 Services also must be made available to child with visual or auditory
impairments from birth through age 2

A student with a disability must not be reported with a TSDS PEIMS special
education instructional setting code before actual service begins.

TEA




Special Education— Section 4

4.3 — Enrollment Procedures

Student Not Previously Receiving Services

* ARD committee meets to determine student's eligibility and placement,
develop IEP, and determine date services will begin

* Special education staff provide coding info and effective date to attendance
personnel ASAP

e Attendance personnel record codes and effective date in attendance
system

Effective date is date services begin, not date ARD committee developed IEP




Special Education— Section 4

4.3 — Enrollment Procedures

Student Whose Arrangement/Setting Is Changing

* ARD committee meets to review |[EP, makes any necessary changes in placement, specifies any
necessary coding changes, and determines effective date of changes

e Special education staff provide coding info changes and effective date to attendance personnel
ASAP

* Attendance personnel record codes and effective date in attendance system

Effective date is date services in new placement begin, not date
ARD committee developed IEP




Special Education— Section 4

4.3.1 — Enrollment Procedures for a Student in Your

District Who Was Not Previously Receiving Special
Education Services

Note: ARD committees may determine that the services will begin on the same date
as the ARD committee meeting with agreement from all parties.

TEA




General Attendance Requirements —

Section 3
4.4 — Withdrawal Procedure

e Student withdrawn when:
Student withdraws from school,

ARD committee determines student is no longer a child with a disability, or

Parent revokes consent for services in writing

e Written notice must be provided at least 5 school days before services will
be discontinued, unless parent agrees otherwise

 ARD committee must provide effective date of dismissal to attendance
personnel ASAP




Special Education — Section 4

4.7 — Instructional Arrangement/Setting Codes
* “Table of Contents” is hyperlinked

* Codes are listed in numerical order

* Links to outside references are included

* Cross-references are hyperlinked
CTRL + click to go to hyperlink
ALT + left arrow key (<) to go back

TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.7.1 — Code 00 - No Instructional Setting (Speech Therapy)

e Detailed instructions for PEIMS 163 record (TSDS PEIMS 42408) and 405 record (TSDS
PEIMS 42401) reporting

 If student is receiving speech therapy + instructional services through another
instructional arrangement/setting, report student with two instructional
arrangement/setting codes on 405 record (TSDS PEIMS 42401)

This is the only circumstance in which a student is reported with two codes for same

time period

code 00 is used regardless of whether the speech therapy is provided in the general
education classroom or in a location other than a general education setting.




Special Education — Section 4

4.7.2.1- Homebound Notes

The teacher serving a student at home or hospital bedside (“homebound
teacher”) while the student is in the special education homebound setting
must be a certified special education teacher. The language about NCLB
highly qualified teacher requirements was removed.

TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.7.10.1- Requirements

A certified special education personnel involved in the implementation of the
student’s IEP through the provision of direct, indirect, and/or support
services. The word “qualified” was revised to “certified.”

TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.7.11— Code 41 or 42 - Resource Room/Services

Code 41 or 42 is used for a student who is receiving related services in a
special education setting. Related services include but are not limited to
physical therapy, occupational therapy, and counseling by a certified or
licensed counselor on a regularly scheduled basis. . .

“Pulled out” was deleted from the wording in section 4.7.11, 4.18.4, 4.18.5,
and 4.18.10. These sections now say “in a location other than a general
education setting”




Special Education — Section 4

4.9— Preschool Programs for Children with Disabilities (PPCDs)
* 4.9.1: Eligibility: 3 through 5 years of age

4.9.2: Eligible to generate funding on same basis as other students (2-through-4-
hour rule)

4.9.3: PPCD and prekindergarten programs (table)

4.9.4: PPCD and kindergarten programs (table)

4.9.5-7: PPCD and Head Start, preschool, and
child care programs

4.9.8: Table for 4.9.5—7
4.9.9: PPCD and dual enrollment




Special Education — Section 4

4.11- Shared Services Arrangements (SSAs), Including Regional Day
School Program for the Deaf

Note: With the closing of STS, RDSPD SSAs must report students who
reside in one district but receive educational services in another
district as transfer students.

The matter of which district will report the student should be outlined
in the SSA agreement between the member districts. The same district
reports the student for all TSDS PEIMS reporting. If the RDSPD fiscal
agent district reports TSDS PEIMS data for students who reside in
another district, the student must be reported on the 101 record (TSDS
PEIMS 40100) as a transfer student (attribution code 6 — transfer
student). For these transfer students, the district must also report the
Campus-ID-of-Residence (data element E0903).




Special Education — Section 4

4.11- Shared Services Arrangements (SSAs), Including Regional Day
School Program for the Deaf

If a student is enrolled in an RDSPD: then use ADA eligibility code:

and is a full-day student (served for at least 4 1—eligible for full-day attendance
hours [240 minutes]) and is a resident of the
district submitting TSDS PEIMS data

and is a half-day student (served for at least 2 2—eligible for half-day attendance
hours [120 minutes]) and is a resident of the
district submitting TSDS PEIMS data

and is a full-day student (served for at least 4 3—eligible for full-day attendance (note: this also

hours [240 minutes]) but is a not a resident of the | requires that the student be assigned an

district submitting TSDS PEIMS data attribution code of 6 — transfer student on the
40100 record)

and is a half-day student (served for at least 2 6 —eligible for half-day attendance (note: this

hours [120 minutes]) but is not a resident of the also requires that the student be assigned an

district submitting TSDS PEIMS data attribution code of 6 — transfer student on the

40100 record)

ADA eligibility code 3 and 6 were added to the table above. TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.15 — Eligible Days Present and Contact Hours
e Contact Hours for Each Instructional Arrangement/Setting Chart
4.16 — Documentation

e Homebound log, etc.
* ARD/IFSP committee documentation, including IEP or IFSP

 Eligibility statements (homebound, hospital class, residential facility)

TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.18.4— Code 40- Mainstream Examples
Example 1: the word “certified” replaced “qualified”

Example 3: A student attends all general education classes and
receives special education services in the general education
setting. For 1 hour a week, as documented in the IEP, this student
receives physical therapy in the general education classroom.

Example 5: ... The speech therapist provides speech instruction
for 30 minutes a week in a location other than a general
education setting. TEA




Special Education — Section 4

4.18.9— Codes 91-98- Off Home Campus Examples

Example 4: A 5-year-old special education student receives full-
time special education and related services in a self-contained
multidistrict preschool classroom designed for children with
disabilities.

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.2 — Eligibility and Eligible Days Present

For contact hour funding, district must:

* Ensure each CTE course has qualified/certified teacher

Exceptions: This requirement does not apply to an open-enrollment charter school unless
the school’s charter states that a CTE course must be taught by a qualified/certified CTE
teacher. It also does not apply to a district of innovation to the extent the district’s

innovation plan allows the use of uncertified teachers in CTE classes.

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5
5.2 — Eligibility and Eligible Days Present

Report teacher of record for each CTE course
(except dual credit course taught off-campus)

Keep documentation showing average minutes/day for course

Have appropriate resources to teach course TEKS

Offer at least one coherent sequence in at least three different clusters

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —

Section 5
5.2.1 — Eligibility of Students for Funding

e Grades 9-12

* Grades 7 and 8, if eligible for and enrolled in
CTE for the Disabled courses

5.2.2 — Eligibility of Courses for Funding

* Courses must be approved by TEA

 List of TEA-approved CTE courses in TSDS PEIMS Data Standards
(code table C022)

.. .Jo receive CTE weighted funding, your district must maintain documentation of local board TEL

approval to offer any TEA-approved innovative course. . .



Career and Technical Education (CTE) —

Section 5
5.5.1 — PEIMS 101 Record (TSDS PEIMS 40100)

CTE Indicator Code
to Be Used on
PEIMS 101 Record

Description of
Student's CTE Participation

not enrolled in a CTE course 0

enrolled in one CTE course (a CTE participant, grades 6-12) ik

CTE coherent sequence taker (CTE concentrator, grades 9-12)
(Coherent sequence is defined as two or more CTE courses for .
three or more credits.)

Tech-Prep program participant (9-12)*
(Student in grades 9—12 who follows a 3
state-approved Tech-Prep high school plan of study)

TEA

Tawas Edueation Agoney

The US Department of Education defunded Tech-Prep grants in 2011.




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.5.1 — PEIMS 410 Record (TSDS PEIMS 42401)

CTE Code Average Minutes per Day in CTE Course
V1 45-89
V2 90-149
V3 150-180+

Each CTE course must be reviewed separately to determine
average minutes per day students attend that course

3 contact hours is the maximum for a single course

For students enrolled in more than one CTE course,
CTE codes are combined to determine correct code

Example: A student enrolled in three separate 45-minute
CTE courses would be assigned a code of V3 (V1 + V1 + V1 = V3)

TEA

Touns Education Agoney




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.6 — Computing Contact Hours

CTE | Contact-Hour
e Contact hours = Code Multiplier
.. Vi 1.0
Eligible days present x
5 e V2 2.0
contact-hour multiplier V3 3.0
V4 4.0
* 6-hour daily limit for funding V5 5.0
Vé 6.0
Contact Hours =
CTE Days x r”E'“A'i
Contact-Hour Multiplier




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.7 — Career Preparation and Practicum Experiences

* Career Preparation
Classroom instruction + time at training site
Paid

* Practicum

Classroom instruction + time at training site or in lab

Specific to a cluster

Paid or unpaid

Training plan not required if student participating in unpaid practicum with teacher of r&‘i

record providing the training -



Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.8 — CTE Problems and Solutions

e Classroom instruction and supervised research
Equivalent to average of five periods per week
Student and teacher meet at least once per week

* Cooperatively planned

e Student may be counted for contact hours on first day of enrollment if
written project plan is in place within 15 days

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —

Section 5

5.9 — Career and Technical Education for the Disabled (CTED) Courses
* Grades 7-12
* Requires ARD committee approval

* Classes must be self-contained and serve only special education students

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.10 Contracting with Other Entities to Provide CTE Instruction

“*The entity may be a school district, a community or technical college,
or a career school. Career school replaced proprietary school.

TEA




Career and Technical Education (CTE) —
Section 5

5.11 — Documentation
* Teachers’ grade books
* Documentation showing average minutes per day for each CTE course

e Schedule change documents for students who change schedules during a
semester

TEA




Bilingual/English as a Second Language
(ESL) — Section 6

Instances of limited English proficient (LEP) were changed to English language
learner (ELL) throughout Section 6.

6.2 — Eligibility

All of following criteria must be met:

* Home language survey (HLS) indicates language other than English
e Student tests below cutoff score on applicable test(s)

* Language proficiency assessment committee (LPAC) recommends
placement in program

e Parent approves student’s placement in writing




Bilingual/ESL — Section 6

6.2 — Eligibility

Following are eligible for services but not funding:

e Student scoring above test cutoff scores

» Student who has exited/transitioned out and whose:
Parents approve continued participation and

School wishes to continue services

“**Each student must be served according to the following guidelines:
On a student’s initial enrollment and at the end of each school year,
the LPAC must review all pertinent information on the ELL student.




Bilingual/ESL — Section 6

6.3.1 — Students Who Move to Your District

e |dentification as limited English proficient (LEP) and enrollment in program must
occur within 4 weeks (20 school days)

 District cannot receive weighted funding until documentation in place
e Service must begin immediately while waiting for documentation

* If documents not received in 4 weeks, begin standard ID and assessment
procedures

TEA




Bilingual/ESL — Section 6

6.8 — Withdrawal/Reclassification/Exit Procedures

e Student is withdrawn if:
LPAC classifies student as English proficient,
Parent requests removal from program, or

Student withdraws from district (not program)

Once student has met exit criteria, district must notify parent and get parental
approval for exit from program TEL



At the end of the school year, a district may transfer (exit, reclassify, transition) an ELL student out of a bilingual or ESL education program for the first time or a subsequent time if the student is able to
participate equally in a regular all-English instruction program as determined by satisfactory performance in all three assessment areas below and the results of a subjective teacher evaluation.!

For State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) English reading and English writing, the performance level for program exit is Level Il (Satisfactory Academic Performance) or above.

Bilingual/ESL — Section 6

2016-2017 English Proficiency Exit Criteria Chart

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11“'/ 12th
Scf\l;:Ie Ynetar Scored Scored Scored Scored Scored Scored Scored Scored
Oral = Scored Fluent on Scored Fluent on Fluent on Fluent on Fluent on Fluent on Fluent on Fluent on Fluenton | Fluenton Scored Fluent on
Listenin_ 2 English OLPT? English OLPT? English English English English English English English English English OLPT?
‘g OLPT? OLPT? OLPT? OLPT? OLPT? OLPT? OLPT? OLPT?
Speaking
Norm-Referenced Norm-Referenced Norm-Referenced
Standardized Standardized Standardized
English Achievement Achievement Achievement Test?
Reading? Test? (Rdg./Lang.) | Test? (Rdg./Lang.) Sy el e The HAnh lled (Rdg./Lang.)
40th percentile or | 40th percentile or STAAR? STAAR® 40th percentile or
above above above
. i : Agency- Agency- Agency- Agency- .
VEvr:igtliI:hs Ag\(/e\? r(i:l/i:p'l?égt\;ed Ag\iyrcizi:p_gst\ied Approved STAAR Approved Approved STAAR Approved Ag\i;m/i:p_gsot\;ed
g & € Writing Test? Writing Test? | Writing Test? Writing Test? g
Subjective
Teacher Assessments, anecdotal notes, portfolios, etc.
Evaluation
119 TAC §89.1225(h)

2 |n the 2016-2017 List of Approved Tests for Assessment of Limited English Proficient Students available on the following web page: http://tea.texas.gov/bilingual/esl/education/

3 For STAAR, “English Reading” and “English Writing” refer to the grade-level tests in grades 3—8 and to the applicable end-of-course English | and Il assessments.

4 Exception: Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) Reading and Writing Advanced High will be used for all students with the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) as

their graduation requirement under state policy.
Note: ELL students may be exited only after the end of first grade based on 19 TAC §89.1225(i). I

Note: ELL students for whom the LPAC has recommended linguistic accommodations on the STAAR reading or writing test should not be considered for exit. |

TEA
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Bilingual/ESL — Section 6

6.11 — Documentation

* Home language survey

* Test results

* LPAC recommendations and parent approval or denial

* |dentification of student as LEP and level of language proficiency
e Proof of program service (grade books, class rosters, etc.)

e Dates of entry into and exit from the program

* Parent approval for exit from the program

* Instructional interventions

e State assessment participation decisions and any linguistic accommodations

* Results of monitoring academic success

e Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) writing samples (kept 2 years) TE....&



Prekindergarten — Section 7

General requirements
* Any district may offer prekindergarten (PK)

e District must offer PK if 15+ eligible children who are at least
4 years of age on or before September 1 of current year

 Eligible students cannot be charged tuition for the half day that is FSP funded
(state funded)

 Eligible students can be charged for the additional half day that is not FSP funded
e Students must be 3 or 4
* A class may serve both 3- and 4-year-olds

 State funding is half-day (special education exception)




Prekindergarten — Section 7

7.2 — Eligibility

Student is:
e Unable to speak and comprehend English (LEP)

Educationally disadvantaged
(eligible for National School Lunch Program [NSLP])

Homeless

Child of active duty member of US armed forces or reserves ordered to active duty

Child of member of US armed forces or reserves injured or killed while on active duty

In foster care or was ever in foster care in Texas

TEA




Prekindergarten — Section 7

7.2 — Documentation of Eligibility
* English proficiency: Home language survey and test results

* Educationally disadvantaged: Evidence student eligible for NSLP:

Automatically eligible (Head Start, migrant, TANF) or
Eligible based on family income

* Homeless: Documentation that local homeless education liaison finds student meets federal
definition of homeless

e Parent military service (see 7.2.5.1):

Military ID

Statement of service

Department of Defense death certificate

Purple Heart orders or citation

Documentation that service member is missing in action

Copy of US Department of Veterans Affairs letter stating service member eligible
for disability compensation

TEA

* Foster care: Texas DFPS verification letter —— =




Prekindergarten — Section 7

7.2 — Documentation of Eligibility

** If a student is eligible for PK because the student is educationally disadvantaged (eligible to
participate in the NSLP), your district must verify and document (the district must document and
have on file evidence was deleted) that the student is eligible to participate in the NSLP, either
because the student’s family income level meets requirements for participation in the NSLP or
because of automatic eligibility for the NSLP.

7.2.5.1- Documentation Required

“*A copy of a letter from the US Department of Veterans Affairs indicating that the service
member has a service-connected disability and is eligible for disability compensation is
also acceptable.

TEA
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Prekindergarten — Section 7

7.5 Eligible Days Present and ADA Eligibility

Note: The 2-through-4-hour rule includes recess and in-class breakfast. For funding purposes classroom time
includes recess and in-class breakfast.

ADA Eligibility Coding for Students Served in a PK Classroom

Student Age | ADA Eligibility Code

A student eligible for PK! served in the PK classroom by a

PK teacher for % day 3oréd 2 half-day

A student eligible for PK! served in the PK classroom by a

PK teacher for the full day 3oréd 2 half-day

A student ineligible for PK? served in the PK classroom by

3ord 5 ineligible half-d
a PK teacher for % day it s sindnti i,
A student ineligible for PK? served in the PK classroom by oy 4 ineligible full-day
a PK teacher for the full day TEA
A student eligible for PK* and special education (PPCD) Toms Eentn A
served in the PK classroom by a PK teacher for ¥; day and 3or4d 1 eligible full-day

served in the PPCD for % day?




Prekindergarten — Section 7

7.5.2 — Students Who Are Eligible for Special Education (PPCD) and
Are Served in a PK Classroom

e Student who is eligible for both special education and PK

Eligible for full-day attendance if scheduled for and receives

at least 4 hours of instruction or services

(receives at least 2 hours of special education services in addition to the 2 hours of PK program
instruction)

Eligible for half-day attendance if scheduled for and receives at least
2 hours but fewer than 4 hours of instruction or services

e Student who is eligible for special education but not for PK

ADA eligibility determined by amount of time student is provided special education services each day 1'5_&



Gifted/Talented — Section 8

8.2 — Eligibility
* Maximum of 5% of students in ADA eligible for funding
e Student must be served before March 1 to be eligible for funding (transfer exception)
e Committee selects students
8.5 — Policies for Selection of Students to Participate in the Gifted/Talented Program
* Local policies must include:
Assessment measures from multiple sources

Procedures that ensure access to gifted/talented assessment and, if identified, services for

all
Provisions for reassessment, exiting students from the program, transfer students, and TEAL
appeals -



Pregnancy Related Services (PRS) —
Section 9

PRS are services, including Compensatory Education Home Instruction (CEHI),
that a student receives during prenatal and postpartum periods to help her:

e Adjust academically, mentally, and physically and

e Stay in school

If district offers PRS:
e CEHI mandatory

e Support services optional

TEA




PRS — Section 9

9.2 — Eligibility/Eligible Days Present
* Eligibility for services:

Students in prenatal or postpartum period

Student who is pregnant

Student who:

* Delivers a live, aborted, or stillborn baby
» Suffers a miscarriage or death of a newborn

* Places a baby up for adoption

* Eligibility for funding:

Students eligible for ADA and for PRS program services are eligible for PRS
funding beginning on date services begin

TEA



PRS — Section 9

9.2 — Eligibility/Eligible Days Present
* Eligibility for PRS ends:

When student returns from postpartum confinement to resume regular classes or

First day of 7th week

* For student requiring extended confinement, eligibility ends:

When student returns from postpartum confinement to resume regular classes or

First day of 11th week

TEA




PRS — Section 9

9.8 — CEHI During Prenatal Confinement

* No limit to the length of time or number of times student may receive CEHI
in prenatal period

* Documentation for each event of prenatal confinement must be obtained
from a licensed medical practitioner

TEA




PRS — Section 9

9.9 — CEHI During Postpartum Confinement

 If district offers PRS and student has not refused services, district must provide
postpartum CEHI either:

Until student chooses to return to school or

Until end of 6th week from the beginning date

e Student is not required to provide medical note to receive postpartum CEHI through 6th
week

* CEHI may be extended 4 additional weeks if medical necessity, either for mother or baby

TEA



PRS — Section 9

9.9.3 — CEHI During Break-in-Service Confinement

e Allows student to divide up to 10 weeks of CEHI into
two or more periods

9.10 — Confinement and Earning Eligible Days Present

* 1 hour =1 day present

e Student must have medical release to return to campus to receive temporary,
limited support services or take required state assessments

* Time on campus cannot count as any part of CEHI hours for eligible days present
(even if district has waiver)

Students must receive instruction in core academic courses




PRS — Section 9

9.12 — PRS and Special Education Services

9.12.2 — PRS and Special Education Students: If a special education student is provided special
education homebound services during a week but is not provided PRS, the student may be
counted present, but the student is not eligible to generate PRS weighted funding for the week

Amount of Time Served per Week

(Week Is Sunday Through Saturday) SPED and PRS Eligible Days Present Earned per Week
SPED Homebound PRS
1 hour 1 hour 1 day present SPED and PRS
2 hours 2 hours 2 days present SPED and PRS
3 hours 2 hours 3 days present SPED and PRS

4 days present SPED and PRS (if the week is a 4-day week)

4 hours 2 hours . .
5 days present SPED and PRS (if the week is a 5-day week) TEA

Towas Education Agoney

4 days present SPED and PRS (if the week is a 4-day week)

More than 4 h 2h . .
ore than & hours ours 5 days present SPED and PRS (if the week is a 5-day week)




PRS — Section 9

9.15 — Documentation:

* PRS Compensatory Education Home Instruction (CEHI) Logs: Requirements for CEHI logs
state that a log must include a student’s Texas Unique Student ID instead of the student’s
Social Security Number or alternative ID number.




Nontraditional Schools — Section 10

Nontraditional settings include:

Alternative education programs (AEPs)

Juvenile justice alternative education programs (JJAEPSs)

Disciplinary alternative education programs (DAEPs)

In-school suspension (ISS)

Out-of-school suspension (OSS)

Education programs for incarcerated youth

Direct questions about disciplinary issues to
Safety and Chapter 37, (512) 463-2395 TEA




Nontraditional Schools — Section 10

10.3 — School Calendar Requirements and Waivers to These Requirements

e Calendar must follow same rules as for regular school program

A JJAEP must operate at least 7 hours per day (420 minutes) and at least 180 days per
year unless the JJAEP has applied to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department for a waiver

of the 180-day requirement.

10.4 — Attendance Accounting Documentation

e Attendance accounting records must meet same standards as for regular school program

10.6.1 — Absent Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (JJAEP)

Students: A student who is absent on his or her first day of scheduled JIAEP attendance
is reported absent at the campus at which he or she was enrolled before assignment to

the JJAEP.




Nontraditional Schools — Section 10

10.10 — Disciplinary Removals of Students with Disabilities

* Removal for violations of student code of conduct limited to not more than 10 consecutive
school days

* For removals over 10 consecutive school days, ARD committee must determine whether
misconduct was manifestation of disability

e Student removed for 10+ school days in same year must continue to receive services

e Student removed for fewer than 10 days must also continue to receive services if district
provides educational services to students without disabilities who are similarly removed

 District may remove student for up to 45 days for misconduct involving weapons, drugs, or
serious bodily injury without regard to whether misconduct was manifestation of disability TEL

Towas Education Agoney



Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

Nontraditional programs include:

College credit programs (including dual credit)

Optional Flexible School Day Program

Optional Flexible Year Program

High School Equivalency Program

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.3 — College Credit Programs

 Advanced Placement
* |nternational Baccalaureate

e Dual credit programs

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.3.1 — Dual Credit Programs

* With limited exceptions, student:
Must be at least a junior to enroll in a dual credit course
* Exceptions
Early College High School student
Student who demonstrates outstanding academic performance and capability

* |f exception based on outstanding academic performance and capability, district must
have documentation

Local criteria
Student meets criteria TEL
Approval high school and college




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.3.1 — Dual Credit Programs

A student has successfully completed a college preparatory course under TEC
§28.014. This exemption applies only to the content area of the course and
for a period of 24 months from the date of high school graduation.
Additionally, the exemption is limited to the institution of higher education
that partners with the school district in which the student completed the
course; however, an institution of higher education may enter into a
Memorandum of Understanding with a partnering institution of higher
education to accept the exemption for the college preparatory course.




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.6 — Optional Flexible School Day Program (OFSDP)

* Program uses alternative method of attendance accounting;

attendance reported with PEIMS 500 (TSDS PEIMS 42401)
series records

* Funding based on total eligible minutes of instruction time

Student must receive minimum of 45 minutes of instruction
on a given day for contact time to be earned

Student may receive maximum of 600 minutes (10 hours)
per day

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

o= GRS P

* Fixed or flexible schedules that do not meet the traditional 75,600 minutes,
5-days-per-week rules

* OFSDP instructional arrangements include:
Weekend or night classes
Extended-day classes
Classes offered throughout the year
Flexible schedules

Credit recovery classes (may be offered in summer)

» Application required TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.6.2 — OFSDP Student Eligibility

* Student eligible to participate if:
The student:

Is at risk of dropping out of school,
Is attending a school with an approved innovative campus plan,
Is attending a school with an approved Early College High School Program, or

Will be denied credit for one or more classes because of attendance requirements and

The student and the student’s parent agree in writing to the student’s
participation

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.7 — Optional Flexible Year Program

* For students who did not or are likely not to pass required
state assessments or who would not otherwise be promoted to next grade

* Allows district, with approval of commissioner, to provide
170 instructional days (71,400 minutes) to students not at risk and provide
180 instructional days (75,600 minutes, including intermissions and recess
minutes) to those at risk

* OFYP students should be reported on separate track

 Districts are encouraged to communicate with parents
and to schedule the 10 OFYP days throughout year

 District must submit application to participate




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.8 — High School Equivalency Program (HSEP)

* For students who have been court-ordered to attend GED classes or
take GED test or students who meet the following criteria:

Student is at least 16,
Student is at risk of dropping out,
Student and parents have agreed in writing to participation, and

At least 2 school years have passed since student first enrolled in grade 9
and student has less than one-third of the credits to graduate under
minimum graduation requirements

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

e R

* Program uses alternative method of attendance accounting;
attendance reported with PEIMS 500 (TSDS PEIMS 42401) series records

* Funding based on total eligible minutes of instruction time

Student must receive minimum of 45 minutes of instruction on a given day for contact
time to be earned

Student may receive maximum of 600 minutes (10 hours) per day

TEA




Nontraditional Programs — Section 11

11.9 — Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children

* Agreement among member states to abide by common set of rules related to the
education of military children

* Texas became a member in 2009

 Child of military family who moves here from another member state is entitled to
continue enrollment at same grade level

TEA




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2 — Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN)

* Provides access to online courses that address
Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills and meet
national standards for quality online courses

* Includes:

Statewide catalog of online courses for grades 9-12

TxVSN Online Schools (OLS) programs for grades 3—12

TEA




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2.1 — Student Eligibility for the TxVSN

e Student eligible if:
The student, on September 1:

Is younger than 21 or
Is younger than 26 and has been admitted to complete diploma requirements;

The student has not graduated from high school; and
The student:

Is otherwise eligible to enroll in a public school in this state or
Meets the following criteria:

* |s a dependent of a US military member,

* Was previously enrolled in high school in Texas, and

* No longer resides in Texas as a result of a military deployment or transfer rg...ﬁ




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2.1.1 — Student Eligibility for Full-Time TxVSN Enrollment

e Student must meet one of the following three criteria:

The student was enrolled in a Texas public school in the
preceding school year;

The student has been placed in substitute care in this state; or

The student:

Is a dependent of a US military member,

Was previously enrolled in high school in Texas, and

No longer resides in Texas as a result of a military deployment or transfer TE.._E




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2.2.1 — Student Eligibility for Full-Time TxVSN Enrollment

A total of no more than three semester courses taken through the TxVSN statewide course
catalog may be used in determining a student’s ADA eligibility for any one semester with a
maximum of six total semester courses in a school year. Students enrolled in online courses
offered by an officially recognized TxVSN online school are not subject to the three-course
maximum; no more than five total semester courses taken through the TxXVSN may be used in
determining a student’s ADA eligibility for any one semester, with a maximum of 10 TxVSN
semester courses within a school year.

An exception applies to a student who lacks just six semester courses to meet his or her
graduation plan, is in the final semester of the school year, and did not generate FSP funding
in the first semester of that school year. That student may earn funding for a maximum of six
semester courses through the TxVSN course catalog in the second semester of the school
year; or, if the student is enrolled in an officially recognized TxVSN online school, he or she
may earn funding for a maximum of 10 TxXVSN semester courses in the second semester of

the school year.




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2.2 — TxVSN FSP Funding and Attendance Accounting
* Enrollment in TXVSN courses counts toward ADA eligibility

* A high school student will be counted as scheduled for and receiving instruction for 55 minutes
a day for each TxVSN course taken and passed (five courses = full-time)

e A grade 3-8 student (TxVSN Online Schools only) will be counted as receiving full-day

instruction as long as student successfully completes TxVSN program and is promoted to next
grade

* No more than three courses may be counted toward a student’s ADA eligibility unless district is
an officially recognized TxVSN Online School

* Assign ADA eligibility code assuming student will pass all courses or successfully complete the
program

TEA

* *TEA will adjust ADA eligibility code as necessary after end of year S




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.2.4 — Examples

A student who is not scheduled for traditional classes, is not receiving instruction in traditional
classes, is eligible for full-time enrollment in TxXVSN courses, and is enrolled in five or more TxVSN
courses for grades 9 through 12 offered by a district or charter school that is not an officially
recognized TxVSN online school is reported with an ADA eligibility code of 2 — Eligible for Half-Day
Attendance because only a maximum of three TxVSN statewide course catalog courses (165
minutes) may apply toward ADA eligibility in any one semester. The student is considered present
(in attendance) for each day of instruction in the reporting period.

If the student successfully completes at least three TxVSN courses in a semester, his or her ADA
eligibility status does not change. If the student successfully completes two or fewer of the

courses, the TEA will adjust the student’s ADA eligibility status to enrolled, not in membership,
and adjust the FSP funding for the student to SO. TEL
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Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.3 — Remote Instruction That Is Not Delivered Through TxVSN

* Instruction provided through a technology that allows for real-time, two-way
interaction between student and teacher in different locations (e.g., interactive
video conferencing )

* Includes:

Remote conferencing
(attendance based on 2-through-4-hour rule)

Remote homebound instruction (attendance based on hours of individualized
instruction and homebound funding chart)

Distance learning

e Waiver required (except for distance learning)




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.3.1 — Remote Conferencing — Regular Education Students

e Student at off-campus location able to virtually participate in classes provided on the
student’s campus

e Student must be unable to attend school because of a temporary medical condition
documented by a physician

e Attendance based on 2-through-4-hour rule and whether student is virtually present at
attendance time

* Remote conferencing is not the same as homebound instruction

TEA




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.3.2 — Remote Conferencing — Special Education Students

e Situation in which:

Student at off-campus location able to virtually participate in classes provided on
the student’s campus or

Student at on- or off-campus location receives instruction or services from an
appropriately credentialed individual who is at a different location (e.g., speech
therapy)

* ARD committee must determine whether appropriate

e Attendance based on 2-through-4-hour rule and whether student is
present/virtually present at attendance time

* Remote conferencing is not the same as homebound instruction




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.3.3 — Remote Homebound Instruction —
Regular Education Students

e Student at home or hospital receives individualized remote instruction through
homebound program

e All program requirements except in-person instruction must be met

* Attendance based on number of hours of individualized homebound instruction student
receives and homebound funding chart

* Remote homebound instruction is not the same as remote conferencing




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction

— Section 12

e |2.3.4 — Remote Homebound Instruction —
Special Education Students

Eligible student at home or hospital receives individualized remote instruction through
special education homebound program

All program requirements except in-person instruction must be met; ARD committee
must determine whether appropriate

Attendance based on number of hours of individualized homebound instruction student
receives and homebound funding chart

Remote homebound instruction is not the same as remote conferencing




Virtual, Remote, and Electronic Instruction
— Section 12

12.3.5 — Distance Learning
* Only form of remote instruction that does not require waiver

e Student physically located at his or her home campus participates in a class provided at
another campus in same district or another district at which students and a teacher are
physically present

TEA




Additional Information

Section 13 - Appendix

* ADA and funding
Definitions
Information on ADA calculation, including calculation of flexible attendance
Information on weighted funding

Definitions:

School Day: — A school day must be at least 7 hours (420 minutes) each day, including intermissions
and recesses. Open-enrollment charter schools are not subject to this requirement and may have a
shorter school day if their charter so provides.

Homeless Students: Because of amendments to 42 United States Code (USC), §11302, the current
citation for the cross-referenced provision is 42 USC, §11302(a)(2). Pursuant to the federal Every
Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA), amendments to this definition take effect on December 10,
2016, which include removal of the phrase “or are awaiting foster care placement.” The ESSA also TE....&
adds provisions specific to students in foster care.




Additional Information

Section 13 - Appendix
Definitions:

Instructional track — The number of days taught for a group of students in a
particular reporting period at a campus when the reporting periods are the same.
It is recommended that a campus report different tracks if the number of days
taught for a group of students is different in a reporting period. A separate track
applies when different sessions are only offered to a group of students who have a
different start time and/or different end time.

Operational time — The time of when the first school bell to the last school
bell (bell to bell).




Additional Information

Section 14 - Glossary

e Terms and definitions
Index

Resources

* Links to helpful websites
Change document
FAQs

TEA




TEA Program Area Numbers

Texas Education Agency Telephone Numbers

Bilingual/ESL Education {(Curriculum DIVISION)....cc.c.uuisssassssimassessisissssanssssses (512) 463-9581
Career and Technical Education (Curriculum DiVISION) ..cuueiveeieeeeirneeiieeeeerneeeneeenneennnes (512)463-9581
Financial Compliance Division (Audit RequUirements) .....c..ceeueeeereiireeeeeerneenneenneennaeenns (512)463-9095
Gifted/Talented Education (Curriculum DiVISION) .......eeueeeeeeerreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssnnnns (512)463-9581
PEIMS (DAta CONBCHION) ..veveereeeereeeeeseeeeseeseseeseseeseseesesseseseesesseseseesessesesesessesessesessesenes (512) 463-9117
Performance RepPOrting DiVISION . ... cuueeireeeeieeesereseerseessessneesseessneesnessnesenessnsesneessnsenns (512)463-9704
Pregnancy Related SerVICeS ...t e e e e s eae e s s e e saa e s aan e e aanesanns (512)463-9073
o =] QYo (=] =2 | (=1 LSS (512)463-9581
S NN NI IR o ot o s e A 54 A SR RGARGIE (512)463-2395
Special Education (Federal and State Education Policy DivisSion) ......cccueeveevinieincennnens (512)463-9414
Student Attendance Accounting Handbook (Financial Accountability Division) .......... (512)463-9238

TEA
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