Districts of Innovation

H.B. 1842 (84th Session of the Texas Legislature) in part amended Chapter 12 of the Texas Education Code (TEC) to create Districts of Innovations. Districts are eligible for designation if certain performance requirements are met and the district follows certain procedures for adoption as outlined in Statute. The designation provides the district will be exempt from certain sections of the TEC that inhibit the goals of the district as outlined in the locally adopted Innovation Plan.

The term of the designation as a district of innovation may not exceed 5 years.

We encourage all districts to consult with their legal counsel regarding the effect of any exemption claimed. The Texas Education Agency does not have the authority to approve a district's innovation plan. However, the Agency retains the authority to engage in investigative, intervention and enforcement activities if the district is not in compliance with legal requirements for which an exemption cannot be claimed.


Districts of Innovation Overview 

TEC Chapter 12A, Districts of Innovation  

Adopted Commissioner's Rules - 19 TAC Chapter 102, Subchapter JJ, Innovation District

Current Innovation Districts

The following districts have notified the TEA that they have adopted a local innovation plan and are designated as Innovation District. TEA does not have authority to approve or reject plans. Consequently, some plans may claim unallowable exemptions. If a district wishes to use any of these plans as a resource, the district should review each claimed exemption to make sure that the claimed exemption complies with the law and rules.

Barbers Hill ISD

Big Spring ISD

Birdville ISD

Bovina ISD

Bridgeport ISD

Bronte ISD

Brownwood ISD

Bryson ISD

Bushland ISD

Calallen ISD

Canton ISD

Canyon ISD

Channelview ISD

Childress ISD

Clear Creek ISD

Conroe ISD

Coppell ISD

Crosby ISD

Crowell ISD

Denton ISD

Dodd City ISD

Dripping Springs ISD

Eagle Mountain Saginaw ISD

Eanes ISD

El Paso ISD


Eula ISD

Farmersville ISD

Forney ISD

Friona ISD

Frisco ISD

Galena Park ISD

Godley ISD

Grand Prairie ISD

Granbury ISD

Gruver ISD

Gunter ISD

Harlingen CISD

Hardin-Jefferson ISD

Haskell ISD

Hedley ISD

Holliday ISD

Huffman ISD

Humble ISD

Huntington ISD

Huntsville ISD

Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD

Hutto ISD


Jarrell ISD

Kaufman ISD

Keene ISD

Keller ISD

Kemp ISD

Knippa ISD

Lake Dallas ISD

Lake Travis ISD

Lampasas ISD

Lefors ISD

Los Fresnos CISD

Lytle ISD

Mabank ISD

Manor ISD

Mansfield ISD

Marion ISD

Martin's Mill ISD

Memphis ISD

Menard ISD

Merkel ISD

Milano ISD

Mineola ISD

Mineral Wells ISD

Mumford ISD

Nazareth ISD

Northside ISD

Palestine ISD

Palmer ISD

Pearland ISD

Plano ISD

Point Isabel ISD

Prosper ISD

Red Oak ISD

Richardson ISD

Rivercrest ISD


Roscoe Collegiate ISD

Rotan ISD

Round Rock ISD

San Antonio ISD

San Saba ISD

Sherman ISD

Slidell ISD

Spring Branch ISD

Terrell ISD

Texarkana ISD

Tomball ISD

Trenton ISD


Valley View ISD

Van Alstyne ISD

 Victoria ISD

Whitewright ISD


For questions regarding a specific district innovation plan, please contact the district directly.