Attendance Projections for the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 School Years

PDF Version 

October 5, 2016

TO THE ADMINISTRATOR ADDRESSED:  

Subject: Attendance Projections for the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 school years

The Attendance Projections subsystem in the online Foundation School Program (FSP) System will open on October 15, 2016. Please review and submit the data by midnight on December 14, 2016.

Attendance projections are estimates of student average daily attendance (ADA) or full-time equivalent (FTE) counts by program or instructional setting. The Texas Education Agency (TEA) develops these attendance projections and provides them to the Texas Legislature by March 1, 2017. The legislature then uses these projections to determine the cost of public education for the next biennium (school years 2017–2018 and 2018–2019). The payments made to your school district during the year are based on the estimated student counts shown in the Legislative Payment Estimate (LPE) column of the Summary of Finances (SOF).

 If you submit the attendance projections data by December 14, 2016:

  • we will use your ADA and FTE estimates in state aid calculations for school years 2017–2018 and 2018–2019.

If you do not submit the attendance projections data by December 14, 2016:

  • we will use the ADA and FTE estimates established in the Attendance Projections subsystem as part of the appropriations process in state aid calculations for school years 2017–2018 and 2018–2019.

The FSP System requires that a designated district approver, usually the superintendent, submit the attendance projections data to the TEA.

The FSP System is an application within the TEASE. If you already have a TEASE account but do not have access to the FSP System, please apply for access by clicking the Add/Modify Application Access button found in the upper-right corner of the TEASE Application List page. If you already have access to the FSP System, please check that you have the appropriate role assigned for submitting the data. You will need to select either the role of pupil projections user or district approver (usually the superintendent).

If you are not the superintendent or district approver: Your district’s user administrator must approve all requests for access to the FSP System and modifications to access using the TEASE User Administration+ system (note that user administrator is a role within the User Administration+ system, which is a different TEASE system from the FSP System). If you have submitted a request for access or a request to modify access and it has not been granted, please consult with your superintendent or district approver, or check with your district’s user administrator to see if the request is in the User Administration+ queue before contacting the TEA.

For more information on the FSP System, including information on applying for specific roles in the system, please see the TEA FSP System web page. For more information on the Attendance Projections subsystem in the FSP System, please see the TEA Attendance Projections web page. For help with accessing the FSP System or submitting attendance projections data, please contact Katherine Heeb at 512-463-9334 or katherine.heeb@tea.texas.gov.

Sincerely,
  

Al McKenzie
Director of State Funding

 

State Funding Division Contact Information:

General SOF (Chapter 42) and TEASE (FSP Application) Questions 
            Nancy Kuhn                (512) 463-6313, nancy.kuhn@tea.texas.gov 
 
Additional Homestead Exemption Hold Harmless
             Al McKenzie                (512) 463-9186, al.mckenzie@tea.texas.gov

Adjustment to the Compressed Tax Rate for Certain School Districts
             Amy Copeland            (512) 463-8732, amy.copeland@tea.texas.gov

Bond Guarantee Program, NIFA
             Cassie Huggins           (512) 463-9232, cassie.huggins@tea.texas.gov

Chapter 41 Wealth Equalization, State Compensatory Education, Optional Flexible Year, and Optional Flexible School Day Programs 
             Kim Wall                      (512) 463-4809, kim.wall@tea.texas.gov  

Charter School Funding 
             Nora Rainey                (512) 463-7298, nora.rainey@tea.texas.gov

IFA / EDA 
              Jacqueline Pree         (512) 475-1217, jacqueline.pree@tea.texas.gov  

Attendance Projections 
             Katherine Heeb           (512) 463-9334, katherine.heeb@tea.texas.gov

Tax Information Survey, Tax Credit for Texas Tax Code, Chapter 313 Value Limitations, Supplemental Tax Increment Fund (TIF) Payments 
             Nancy Kuhn                (512) 463-6313, nancy.kuhn@tea.texas.gov

Transportation Funding, Staff Salary Allotment 
             Danny Sanchez          (512) 463-9266, danny.sanchez@tea.texas.gov