News and Multimedia

  • TEA, ATPE warn of email phishing scam

    The Texas Education Agency (TEA) and the Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) have been advised of a current phishing email directed at teachers and school systems across the state.

    Ten Texas teachers named finalists for 2017 presidential awards in math and science

    Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced today that 10 Texas teachers have been named finalists for the 2017 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The 2017 awards recognize seventh through twelfth grade mathematics and science teachers whose innovative methods bring teaching to life in the classroom.

    TEA establishes hotline for Corpus Christi area parents

    The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has established a telephone hotline for parents living in the Corpus Christi area whose children have been displaced by Hurricane Harvey.

    Additional Missed School Day waivers for districts affected by Hurricane Harvey

    Commissioner of Education Mike Morath has authorized up to four additional Missed School Day Waivers for school systems within Gov. Greg Abbott’s 58-county disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey that will be unable to open the week of Sept. 4.

    Public comment period for ESSA state plan extended

    The TEA has announced that the public comment period for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) consolidated state plan for Texas has been extended through Friday, Sept. 1, 2017. Comments can be submitted via email at